We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Islands Water Park

Gulf Islands Water Park
17200 16th Street, Gulfport, MS
228-328-1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7 Attractions in Gulfport
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

When buying tickets to get into the park, they young lady at the desk asked how old where my kids, I told her 2. She then whispers something to the young man and to another lady. The lady then tells me sorry mam, but your daughter does not look 2 and you would have to pay full price. I told her that they are twins and how could that be possible. To keep down confusion and not to disappoint the kids I just paid for her. Once we went in, they had very limited stuff for them to do. We basically spent most of the trip in the lazy river. There where 2 slides that were available for them. I wasted 21 dollars just for them to float a couple hours. Waterpark only had 3 big slides. Will not be returning

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    13
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Our last trip to this water park...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been going to Gulf Islands Water Park a couple of times each summer for the last three years. This is a small water park and does have nice features, however certain things are not maintained well and it baffles me. The steps to go up to the waterslides are badly rusting and corroded that it is not acceptable. Not just small amounts of rust I mean patches the size of a large pizza covering the poles and steps. Certainly maintenance and some paint would help this problem and in my opinion should be done on a regular basis. The slides are badly faded, again they need to be painted so the red slide is no longer pink and the green slide is not mint green etc. The pathways are covered in small piles of dried grass clipping which ultimatley end up in the pool. Why is this not picked up after mowing. The lazy river and pool have so much grass and dirt in them it is gross. I had hoped to return this year and see some improvements, but instead it has gotten worse. For the cost of a ticket I just expect much more. That was our last trip to this water park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerine, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Small family water park with great grilled food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First let me say that this is a small water park. This is NOT like Disney or other Orlando water parks. But especially for families with younger children, it will be great. Teenagers might get bored of the park, but smaller kids will find plenty they can do. There are many little water and wet areas for small kids to jump and play in. I liked the lazy river, however, it was a big shallow for a grown up. There were plenty of tubes (single/double) to be used. The wave pool was nice b/c the waves were not overwhelming and it was not deep.

Arrival: Be SURE you know exactly where you are going! There are no highway signs and only a couple very small signs once you exit the highway. Basically you will be on small, back woods roads. You will go thru a sports complex (like baseball fields) and then the water park is there. There is plenty of parking, which is free.

If you arrive early enough, go immediately to an umbrella table around the wave pool area. These are free to use vs. the $50 cabanas. All the food is up front, as well as the bathrooms, so getting a table up front is a good choice. Lockers are available for $7. They are VERY SMALL and maybe would hold a purse but not a big beach bag. When you turn in your key you get $5 back OR you can get a voucher for two specific items from the snack area. I think it was for either two Cotton Candy or two Shaved Ice (they called it shaved ice instead of the correct "shave ice"). Trading in for two snack items gets you $7 in snacks instead of your cash back.

All the guest service areas are up front. Again, this is a SMALL park so you won't have to walk far between these areas.......some are just steps away from the others. Restrooms: basic water park bathroom---floor got wetter as the day went on. Changing area: (did not go in). Lockers. Small gift shop with swim diapers, a few t-shirts, etc. Lockers...... by the lockers is a machine of sorts with a long nozzle. For $1 you get 45 seconds of high SPF sunblock spray. Handy idea, Two outside showers.

Food: all Walk Up Windows. Coke products are served. Covered eating area is available by bathrooms or take to your table area. Snacks (shaved ice, cotton candy, etc.). Coke vending machine. Ice cream bars. PIzza (saw others eating and it looked good!). Grill. We were VERY impressed with the grill!! You ordered either hot dog or hamburger and they gave you the bun. You walked around the corner to where a young man was grilling on a big ol' grill. He took your meat off the fire and gave it to you!!! A hamburger meal was just under $8 and came with Coke, hamburger, and a bag of Lay's regular chips.

There was an enormous presence of staff at the water park. Everyone seemed to be teens or young adults but they were all working, not grouped socializing, etc. There were life guards everywhere encouraging people to walk and just watching all areas. Other staff was walking around or sweeping up, etc. If your child got lost, they would have no issues finding an appropriate employee for help.

The clientele seemed to be mostly families with elementary-aged children. There were not groups of unaccompanied teens roaming the park. It felt very safe and comfortable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family visited this water park last week. We had lots of fun. It is very clean. The food and drinks aren't cheap, but its what you expect from a place like this. We loved that pretty much everything was connected to the lazy river, and it was not terribly crowded on a Wednesday. Free life jackets anyone to use if needed too. Fabulous burgers and funnel cakes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Real Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

loved everything. Great service great location GREAT FUN!! As a family we have season passes and use them to the fullest. Its a bit pricey but well worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gulf Islands Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Islands Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.