We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took granddaughter to center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lynn Meadows Discovery Center

Lynn Meadows Discovery Center
246 Dolan Ave, Gulfport, MS 39507
228-897-6039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Children's museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All the best things about being a kid come together at Mississippi’s First Children’s Museum, The Lynn Meadows Discovery Center! Live, learn laugh and play in over 15,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor adventures! Look inside for The Dolan Avenue Depot, The Port with working crane and shrimp nets, Calling All Stars TV studio, The Winn Dixie Morning Market grocery store, The History Hotel old-time adventure, Bear Camp Bayou for little discoverers, What It’s Like to be Me, A Matter of Science and ThinkFirst Safety exhibit! Head outside for The Pelican Porch Cafe, Treehouse Village, Bear Creek, and Kid Street.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Took granddaughter to center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My 9 year old granddaughter wanted to go to a hands on musuem. Most of the displays and activities were for younger children, but she still enjoyed walking around
and found some things that she was interested in. The had tree houses in the yard and playhouses as well. It would be great for a younger child.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Keep you eyes open for great children's programs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've seen several productions here and are always so impressed with the local talent. Good price for good entertainment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for small children.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My girls were 9 and 11 when we visited. We spent about an hour or so. Would be great for children probably 7 and under.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great place to take the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Friendly staff and lots of activities, both educational and fun, for the kids. A great place to go when trying to avoid the sun's rays or the occasional rain storm. They partner with other discovery centers across the US so it may be worth looking into a year long membership or see if you are already in the loop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Children's Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We took three 7 yrs olds and were there for 4 hours, and they would have loved to stay longer! It's a great children's museum with lots to do inside and out. It was a bit windy and chilly when we were there, so we didn't spend a lot of time outside. But the girls made kites in the art room, which was perfect for the day we were there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynn Meadows Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Lynn Meadows Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynn Meadows Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.