We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Terrible Customer Service from Beth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Suites Gulfport Airport

Save Saved
You added Sun Suites Gulfport Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Suites Gulfport Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel - Terrible Customer Service from Beth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good Day, I am in the US Army. I had to overnight in Gulfport, MS due to weather. I enjoyed staying at the hotel and nice facility. However, I did not obtain a receipt and called the reception desk where I encounter BETH with the worst hospitality/customer service. When I asked to recieve my receipt via email and she sternly relpied there is nothing that she can do to assist me. When I asked for a supervisor or manager she stated that there is no one above her. I aked her for an employee number and she stated she do not have one and hanged the phone up in my ear. When I called her back, she stated that I threatened her. I said BETH I am on speaker phone with two other co-workers. She replied I don't care whoses on the phone with you.

Disgruntle Hotel Guest
(Military Soldier)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    9
    3
    16
See reviews for
13
15
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here because everything else was filled.My family and I stayed in room 242 and the room has a urine smell in it. I don't know if it was the floor or bed.Thank God we had some blankets with us.The place need some cleaning, new manager or better housekeepers. I don't recommend this place to nobody.

Room Tip: Plan ahead. Have your room already reserved so that you don't have to settle for this..!! Ramand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin, we arrived and we were told that the wifi was down but hopefully it would be back up before the end of the day. Come to find out, it had been down for at least a week. We unpacked and freshened the room up by wiping down the microwave, spraying airfreshener, and cleaning the shower for peace of mind. The room appeared to be cool, we checked the beds for anything that may have prevented us from sleeping in them. We left to start seeing places, only to comeback around 1 am to discover the room was hot. We called the front desk to be told we could move our things to another room. We were renting a double. I went to get the keys to move our things into the other room, to discover it was a king, why would we want one bed? Having to go down stairs, again to inform the clerk that there was another double right next to the king. He gave me the keys to that one, so we go through the routine of cleaning and checking. The refridgerator had an open can of beer inside, the room smelled of smoke, the tv's picture was extremely fuzzy and the freezer carrier a humm. But it was 2 am by this time, and the air was cool so we made due! We were informed that we could be fully refunded if we checked out or refunded 15% for the inconvenience if we decided to stay! Due to the weekend and other rooms availability we decided to continue our stay there. On our way to see some of the sites I received a call stating that the 1st rooms air was working at the time and we could go back to that room so proper repairs could be made to the 2nd room. We ended up checking out the very next day due to the craziness. I would not stay again, although the staff was fairly nice, the manager probably needs to undergo training again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

No wifi, even though they say they have it..have to bring your dirty towels to office and get clean ones everyday..Ice machine is broken..the service can be improved for their guest..they are clean, and the rate is good...but you do get what u pay for with this one...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have been to the sun suites on more than one trip to Gulfport. It was a great time one trip and not so great on others. That said, you get what you pay for. It's cheap, there is a full kitchen with a full size fridge, a microwave,(if you get a room with one that works.) and a big laundry room by the office. Also bring your own pillow theirs suck. Staff was always as helpful as they could be.

Room Tip: test A/C and microwave as soon as you get in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is horrible, the Manager is never in to talk to about room conditions, and the so called supervisor is a mess, no respect, has a very nasty mouth,and when did it become okay to have a child running the place because that is exactly what she is a child!!! I came down and asked for towels she told me it would be a few hours, the room smelled like smoke and it was suppose to be no smoking, I over heard other guest talk about roaches and bed bugs. The Manager finally came to work and she is no better than her supervisor, I think her name was Melody because I got a card from the office and the supervisor was Hailey. Horrible service for the faces of the company when you have front desk clerks that are more professional than management thanks to the two black women that work at night you helped the hotel a lot! This is for who ever is over the company you should get new office Managers for this property as soon as possible, not wrote up but fired and replace as soon as possible because I run a very smooth business and if any of my employees acted out like these suppose to be Managers they would be looking for jobs somewhere else!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: As long as these two girls are over the place, check in at another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest, We are so sorry you had an unusual experience. We pride ourselves in operating our hotels in an professional manner. We operate over 40 hotels in the southeast. All of our hotels have Full Kitchens, wireless internet, guest laundry and we strive to always be clean and friendly.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am currently staying at this location. I travel for work and stay at Sun Suites whenever possible! The staff here is amazing and the rooms are very clean! I love how everything is included in the price even pots and pans!! My GPS decided to break on me and when I ask the girls at the desk to look up directions for me they do it with a smile!! You definitely will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, General Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is encouraging to know that you are enjoying your stay and I will be sure our entire staff sees your review! Sounds like you enjoy our Full Kitchens that we have in every room.We look forward to making the rest of your stay enjoyable. Thank you for letting us accommodate you with your lodging needs!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Suites Gulfport Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Suites Gulfport Airport

Address: 9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Suites Gulfport Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest suite features an apartment size kitchen with full refrigerator, two-burner stove-top, microwave oven, in-room coffee maker, dishes and utensils, and a well-lit kitchen table/work area. You will also find an alarm clock and radio, personal voice mail service and data port hookup, remote control cable TV with free HBO, and a comfortable well-lit living area. In your suite you will also have an iron and ironing board and hair dryer to use during your stay. For your convenience we also provide a 24-hour guest laundry room and complimentary hi-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sun Suites Gulfport Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Suites Gulfport Airport Hotel Gulfport
Sun Hotel Gulfport Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.