We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Suites Gulfport Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sun Suites Gulfport Airport to your Saves list
Sun Suites Gulfport Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have been to the sun suites on more than one trip to Gulfport. It was a great time one trip and not so great on others. That said, you get what you pay for. It's cheap, there is a full kitchen with a full size fridge, a microwave,(if you get a room with one that works.) and a big laundry room by the office. Also bring your own pillow theirs suck. Staff was always as helpful as they could be.

Room Tip: test A/C and microwave as soon as you get in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    9
    3
    16
See reviews for
13
15
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is horrible, the Manager is never in to talk to about room conditions, and the so called supervisor is a mess, no respect, has a very nasty mouth,and when did it become okay to have a child running the place because that is exactly what she is a child!!! I came down and asked for towels she told me it would be a few hours, the room smelled like smoke and it was suppose to be no smoking, I over heard other guest talk about roaches and bed bugs. The Manager finally came to work and she is no better than her supervisor, I think her name was Melody because I got a card from the office and the supervisor was Hailey. Horrible service for the faces of the company when you have front desk clerks that are more professional than management thanks to the two black women that work at night you helped the hotel a lot! This is for who ever is over the company you should get new office Managers for this property as soon as possible, not wrote up but fired and replace as soon as possible because I run a very smooth business and if any of my employees acted out like these suppose to be Managers they would be looking for jobs somewhere else!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: As long as these two girls are over the place, check in at another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest, We are so sorry you had an unusual experience. We pride ourselves in operating our hotels in an professional manner. We operate over 40 hotels in the southeast. All of our hotels have Full Kitchens, wireless internet, guest laundry and we strive to always be clean and friendly.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am currently staying at this location. I travel for work and stay at Sun Suites whenever possible! The staff here is amazing and the rooms are very clean! I love how everything is included in the price even pots and pans!! My GPS decided to break on me and when I ask the girls at the desk to look up directions for me they do it with a smile!! You definitely will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, General Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is encouraging to know that you are enjoying your stay and I will be sure our entire staff sees your review! Sounds like you enjoy our Full Kitchens that we have in every room.We look forward to making the rest of your stay enjoyable. Thank you for letting us accommodate you with your lodging needs!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Every room Smelled Smoky, misty even after changing 2 rooms. Dead insects, and some crawling under the sink with leaky water. Mold/mildew in the ceiling with water stain. Coffee pot without the coffee, and no utensils to be found except for 2 forks, one bowl and few plates. Mattress needs attention, because their springs gave up, and towels as if some one neatly wrapped cleaning rags. I doubt about the refrigerator was working to maximum cooling capacity, and microwave had burned spots, People were hanging out all night long with some pro women and not a place I would recommend at any cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, General Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,



We are so sorry we did not meet your expectation. We pride ourselves in always being clean and friendly. All of our rooms have full kitchens, full size refrigerator, microwave and two eye stove top. We have all you need to cook with. Free wireless in every room and 24 hour laundry facility.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Early this morning my boyfriend and I began to make our trip from Texas (where he is working currently) back home to Georgia for Christmas. We had previously stayed here at the Sun Suites back in November for about 2 weeks while he was working in this area and had a good experience. Rather than drive the whole 15 hours back home in one day, we decided to cut our trip in half and stay at this hotel again because the price is right and it is a nice hotel. The staff has always been friendly towards us and this same sentiment was expressed today when the lady, Jillian, working at the front desk gave us an amazing deal for the king sized bed for one night. I have never before seen a rate this low, especially for two people with a king size bed. This hotel features a kitchenette with a full size fridge, a coffee pot, a 2-burner stove, sink, and they even give you silverware and dishes for you to use during your stay. I've stayed at a few other extended stay hotels with kitchenettes and they always try to charge you extra for every little thing you need (dishes, coffee pot, wifi, etc...) But the Sun Suites is a true gem and doesn't charge you anything extra, everything is included. If you need dish detergent, all you have to do is ask and they give you a decent size packet free and they don't try to limit your freebies. There is a laundromat on site that is relatively cheap. The rates at this hotel are very nice compared to other hotels in the area; they offer the most for less money. There is a gas station and a few restaurants in walking distance. Walmart is just down the road as well as a few shopping centers. The rooms are clean and the housekeepers are sweet. The hotel perimeter has cameras posted up everywhere so it truly makes you feel safe. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Gulfport and hope to return soon. Merry Christmas! Thank you Sun Suites and Jillian! Y'all really are amazing. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We wanted a place close to the airport at a reasonable rate because of an early flight. I would say that we picked the wrong place. While the cost was reasonable ($60.00 for the night) the bed was terrible. After sleeping there one night my back was junk. We were delayed on our flight and the night before we finally flew out, we spend at the Ramada just up the street. It was a few bucks more, probably leess than $10.00 but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The use of "Suites" in this chain's name is a real stretch of the word. This place would be fine for construction workers working out of town, but not for the professional business traveller. The rooms are bare minimum. Bed, small table and two cheap chairs, with one wall that has a cooktop, refrig and kitchen sink. This is does not have any resemblance to other Extended Stay hotels. Don't get me wrong, it was clean and it was cheap, but it is not comfortable. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Suites Gulfport Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Suites Gulfport Airport

Address: 9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Suites Gulfport Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest suite features an apartment size kitchen with full refrigerator, two-burner stove-top, microwave oven, in-room coffee maker, dishes and utensils, and a well-lit kitchen table/work area. You will also find an alarm clock and radio, personal voice mail service and data port hookup, remote control cable TV with free HBO, and a comfortable well-lit living area. In your suite you will also have an iron and ironing board and hair dryer to use during your stay. For your convenience we also provide a 24-hour guest laundry room and complimentary hi-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sun Suites Gulfport Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Suites Gulfport Airport Hotel Gulfport
Sun Hotel Gulfport Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.