We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Suites Gulfport Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Suites Gulfport Airport to your Saves list
Sun Suites Gulfport Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
HATTIESBURG
1 review
“satisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Although it was a budget hotal I found the room to be clean, it was very quite for a place on the lower end of hotels, but I would recommend it, if your just in and out of town for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, While we are in the business to save our guest money, we also work hard each day to live by our MOTTO, "ALWAYS CLEAN AND FRIENDLY". We look forward to taking care of your future hospitality needs.

Sincerely,

Hailey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    11
    3
    16
See reviews for
14
15
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

i stayed here for cruzin the coast oct 7-9th 2011.some of the reviews i read were true.our tv reseption was bad,the high speed internet was horrible,keep losing it.the room wasn't horrible but needed some mantinace.the frige didn;t work.the manager and deck clerk were very nice and friendly.people were grilling wich the smoke was coming in our room from the a/c,drinking,loud music,some guy was kicked back smoking pot like he owned the place,gangsters all over and up all night.they sleep in there old truck in the back and was working on it as well,all the above i signed a paper saying i wouldn't do cause its against the rules.and not enough parking,one reason to many trailers in parking areas.want stay here next cruzin the coast,you better be back to the hotel no later than 10 pm.you want have a place to park,and management dosn't enforce the rules.not a good place if you have a very nice vehicle for cruzin the coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, General Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,



I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay and I appreciate your constructive criticism and will use your comments to help us better our hotel. We hope you will give us another try in the future.



Warm Regards,

Hailey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Sun Suites in Gulfport, MS in September and some of October of this year. I can honestly say it was a home away from home. Our room was spacious and clean. The kitchenettes are very workable, it was great being able to cook and not have to worry about fast food. But the best value for this hotel comes from the staff. Everyone from the General Manager, to the front desk to the housekeeping staff were amazing. Friendly and helpful, they really made us feel welcome. Especially Hailey, Bobbi, Whitley (and the rest of the housekeepers), who were exceptional and what hospitality is all about! I can never thank them enough for how wonderful they were to my family during our stay. I will and have recommended this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest, We are so excited each day to come in and serve our guests with the best customer service possible. Taking the time to let us know how well we are doing just gives us the push to be even better! Thank you so much for your kind words and we look so much forward to making your next Gulfport Sun Suites stay even better.

Warm Regards,
Hailey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

There are plenty of choices of hotels across from the Gulfport Airport. This hotel is just plain "ok". There is no breakfast, no shampoo, no toothbrushes, so come with some. Rooms are good size, but showing age. Rooms have a small "kitchen" area with a good sized frig and hot plates and coffee maker - table setting for two and a small table. No pots or pans, so you will neet to bring those too! It appears that there are "long-term" folks living towards the back of the hotel, and there is a train track behind the hotel (loud train or two/day). The airport is across the street, so the noise level from the planes can be a bit annoying; however, Gulfport is not a very busy airport fortunately. Laundry machines available, and sode and ice machines. There is a small store in front of the hotel, Chinese restaurant next door, and a Walmart within 5 mins. If you want a bit nicer hotel, then stay at the Comfort Inn next door, or the other hotels just up the Hwy 49, but you will most likely pay a bit more and may experience a bit more airplane noise. There is an outlet mall within about 5 min drive as well and plenty of restuarants within 10 min drive on Hwy 49. Hotel's parking lot is very well lit, but I would recommend a higher floor for a bit more privacy.

Room Tip: Look around because there are lots of choices in the area. Outside noise, because of the airport, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are in a great location and we are "ALWAYS CLEAN AND FRIENDLY". You are correct, if you are looking for a great value, with wonderful customer service, we are your choice. We work each day striving to be the best.

Sincerely,
Hailey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We actually stayed here from June until the first of August. We were here starting a business. We changed rooms several times as I wasn't pleased with the cleanliness. I learned that none of the rooms were clean, we should have gone somewhere else right away but by the time we had taken in the beggars and prostitutes that hung out in the parking lot then we discovered that we ourselves had contracted scabies. I reported this to the office as this really has to be handled appropriately. Their solution was to move us to another room and this was at 1:30 pm on a Saturday and we were told that we had to move immediately as another family would be checking into our old room at 3:00 pm. I was shocked that they were going to put some poor unsuspecting family into a contaminated room. We refused to move and stayed in this room until we had completed our treatment and decontaminated our articles of clothing. Trust me, I wanted to run to another hotel but would not do that as I knew it would only spread this dreaded mite..
I spoke with one of the maids that I had gotten to know and she had the same rash and she said her daughter did also. I suspect there is an infestation in this hotel and people come in and stay a couple of nights and maybe even weeks later get the rash and may never connect it back to this hotel.
These people are not concerned with your welfare, they only care about money and census.
Stay away from this hotel. Scabies is no joke and is a miserable condition to deal with.
Do yourself a favor DO NOT STAY AT SUN SUITES

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesGulfport, General Manager at Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear magc64,



Thank you for your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. As mentioned in the review, you had concerns with mites and bed bugs towards the end of your 4 week stay. We take complaints like this very seriously and have our hotel inspected on a monthly basis. Anytime we receive a complaint, we get pest control to inspect the rooms immediately for any problems. On August 4, we had Orkin pest control come out to inspect the room you were staying in. The pest inspection went well and there were no signs of infestation found in the room.



If you are in the Gulfport area again, I welcome the opportunity to connect with you better on a future stay. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for me.

Kind Regards,

Lee
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

After reading some reviews here, I was almost afraid to stay.. But, I've stayed in much worse. My only complaint would be the "musty" odor in the room, which was aleviated after the a/c was on for a while. Also, the bed was small and not very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for larger bed, unless staying alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Arrived around 8pm on a Friday night and there were men hanging out partying EVERYWHERE. Groups of men hanging off floors smoking and drinking beer on all floors. (this was not any kind of "sports" event weekend.) We are two females and felt very intimidated getting out of the car to check in. Went to check in and the clerk had already ran my credit card and placed in me in the furthest room from the elevator possible. She already had the keys, paperwork, everything prepared... Since the room was on the other far end of the hotel, we ended up having to drag our suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. You could tell people live here- Laundry was hung out to dry on the walkways up and down the floors... Beer bottles, liquor bottles, trash all over the walkways. A couple of the men followed us up the stairs and then stood outside our room talking on phone and smoking cigarettes. Our room was supposed to be non smoking- IT reeked of smoke. The hot water would not come on. We left the room to go check out the casino (Island View) and the men followed us back down the stairs telling us there was an elevator on the other side of building if we had more stuff to get out of car. Thanked them and walked quickly to car. Got back to room around 10:30pm and it had cleared out. There are cameras watching parking lot which made me feel a little better. Did not get a good sleep though. Kept hearing people walk up and down the walkway even with the air conditioner on. Will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: PLenty of other hotels in area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Suites Gulfport Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Suites Gulfport Airport

Address: 9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Suites Gulfport Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest suite features an apartment size kitchen with full refrigerator, two-burner stove-top, microwave oven, in-room coffee maker, dishes and utensils, and a well-lit kitchen table/work area. You will also find an alarm clock and radio, personal voice mail service and data port hookup, remote control cable TV with free HBO, and a comfortable well-lit living area. In your suite you will also have an iron and ironing board and hair dryer to use during your stay. For your convenience we also provide a 24-hour guest laundry room and complimentary hi-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Suites Gulfport Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Suites Gulfport Airport Hotel Gulfport
Sun Hotel Gulfport Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Suites Gulfport Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.