We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9379 Canal Road, Gulfport, MS 39503 (Formerly Crystal Inn Hotel and Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

One of the least expensive properties in the area, this is a freeway motel with the usual amenities. A little noisy on the interstate highway side. Staff polite and helpful. Breakfast is passable. If you head straight to the beach, Steve's Marina is about five miles away.

Room Tip: Choose non-freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    13
    8
    17
See reviews for
37
23
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I really don't know where to start . First off the staff was very nice to deal with but after all they don't own the place . Granted the rooms were large and the bath in our room was ok , but we traveled with a group and not everyone was satisfied . One couple had the bathroom light fall to the floor in the night . Thank goodness they weren't in the bath at the time .Another couple said the light or fan in the bath didn't work at all-they had to leave the door open for 2 days , then it just came back on , on it's own ! Also everyone had trouble getting in their rooms with those room keys . You had to keep swiping them several times to get in . The elevator was down a couple times over 7 days . One of our ladies got stuck in there . I made the mistake of washing 2 loads of clothes . One washer ran 45 minutes , the other 26 minutes , I put the clothes from one washer in the dryer and kept feeding it money for over 2 hours and the clothes still weren't dry, finally an employee put them in one of the commercial dryers to dry them . They also advertise grills on the patio , well if you wanted to use that 1 grill it would take a day or two to clean it ; it was gross , looked like it had never been cleaned . The buffet breakfast was another story-our group mostly ate cereal , the hot food was not good -we also ate at Denny's .
For people who rate this place as great , I wonder how often they stay in a hotel ! Can't believe trip advisor recommends this place , obviously they've never stayed here !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff was wonderful! We were happy with our room when we first arrived, but when we went to the bathroom we saw rust all around the top frame of the door. The next morning we saw a roach in the bathroom. When we went to the hot tub and pool area, there was a 2' x 2' opening in the ceiling that was rusty near the hot tub and water spots on the ceiling above the hot tub. Breakfast was average for a hot hotel breakfast (eggs, hashbrowns, fruit, cereal), but biscuits were hard as another guest mentioned. This hotel was reasonably priced and the staff was friendly, but I wouldn't stay here again. Cleanliness in a hotel is super important to me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,Tn.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for seven nights. The first room they gave us were missing light bulbs with bath light so dim you could not safely bath. They quickly gave us another room. The bed mattress is old and lumpy. The linens were old including the blanket.WE were glad to leave this bed there. The bath tub area needed some bleach to kill mold. The TV is old and the channels are snowy. We were not impressed with the free breakfast. The eggs were fine but the biscuts were hard every day. We decided to go next door at Dennys to eat at least one morning. We bought donuts for one morning since they had limited choice for breakfast..
We will not stay here again. Beware.............

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Room was very nice and clean. Staff very nice. Breakfast buffet was great. Cooks did very good job. The best hotel yet. It's no. 1 to me. We came for cruising The coast event. The price was so good. I recomend this hotel to all my friends. Will choose this hotel again for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have stayed several times over two years and received military discount.was told tonight we do not offer any discounts.was charged $30 more than before.receptionist told me cheaper to book online,kinda hard to do when you are traveling.only stayed cause to tired to drive around and find a room elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice people and friendly. rooms are big and roomy!clean and omfortable. just wished there was a quality restaurant nearby! limited truck parking but doable. there is a Wendy's. and a Denny close by or close enough to walk . i would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites

Address: 9379 Canal Road, Gulfport, MS 39503 (Formerly Crystal Inn Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from casinos, white sandy beaches, and challenging golf courses, our recently renovated hotel offers rooms and suites with microwaves, refrigerators, high-speed wireless Internet access, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, and cable television. Swim all year long in the indoor heated swimming pool and a hot tub. Wake up to our hot breakfast buffet. Whether you stay one night or for several weeks, the Magnolia Bay Hotel and Suites will make your stay in the Gulfport/Biloxi area a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bay Hotel And Suites
Magnolia Bay Hotel Gulfport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.