We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DANGEROUS, BEWARE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9375 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503 (Formerly Best Value Inn - Gulfport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“VERY DANGEROUS, BEWARE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I usually don't write reviews but I thought I should warn you about this hotel. We were driving through I10 and decided to sleep at Gulfport because of bad weather. This hotel was close to the highway; it was cheap and had a good breakfast. The front desk lady was nice and helpful, and the room was clean and in decent conditions, although it was very noise because of its proximity to the highway. HOWEVER: at 5 in the morning we got a phone call from someone who pretended to be part of the staff, who said that there was a problem with our payment and that he needed our personal information. We ignored him of course and went back to sleep. To make things worse, when we woke up we realized that the night latch was half-open, like if someone tried to open the door while we were sleeping (check the picture to see what I mean). We tried to figure out how did that happen, and we realized that the door opened without using the keycard. Our door had the "do not disturb" sign outside, so I suspect that whoever tried to open the door knew that there was people inside. When we told the morning front-desk employee about these problems, she did not seem surprised at all about the phone call, and said that they will fix the lock soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    4
    4
    16
See reviews for
13
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We reserved theroom via Hotwire and the motel name was not given to us until the room was booked. Upon leaning the name of the motel, I checked here and was horrified to see the poor reviews and wanted to cancel. Hotwire said they "would work it out" if I had a similiar experience of their guests past. Upon checking in, my expectations were at low tide, but was pleasantly surprised to find a nice clean room, carpeting was newer and no smoke smell in the room whatsoever. The AC worked just fine, and truly, I found no issues. The breakfast was much better than what we find for the average budget-priced motel. The "biker guy" as he introduced himself was helpful and friendly.

So, I would return if we are in theGulfport area. There is a mile long strip of restaurants and motels within the flight path of the airport, and the noise could be heard outside during the day, but honestly, we heard nothing during the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brusly, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Please don't waste your money here. The rooms were not clean nor comfortable. There was hair all over the floor. It was so bad, we almost just slept in the car. Management did nothing to accomodate for the inconvenience. Even their apology was pitiful!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

While on a road trip we stopped for a nights rest -- rooms are pretty cheap *you get what you pay for*. Rooms are dated, smell & in need of some TLC. Breakfast was free -- all cold -- nothing great.

It's a value in money but not in quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was the only hotel with a vacancy when we booked online. We got to our room and it was a smoking room (reserved non smoking) smelled horrible. The carpet was disgusting, the ac unit was disgusting, some of the lights did not work. If we had not drove 7 hours to take our boys to the beach we would have turned around and went home. At $100 dollars a night you expect a clean room. This place looked like one of those rent by the hour rooms. Oh and its close to the air port so you will hear planes landing all night which is loud. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is there was an older lady at the front desk when we checked out on a Sunday morning she was very kind and professional this hotel is lucky to have her

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately I am laying in one of these rooms right now! We chose to book here because we stayed at the one in Paris, Texas and it was so clean and the people were super nice. This one is awful! I believe the guy who talked about the hair in the restrooms, it's sad when you'd rather be dirty than get in the shower. Also one shampoo in a pouch for two adults and a daughter is not sufficient enough. The floors are filthy and I have never been in a hotel that doesn't have a place to hang up clothes! No dirty clothes bag, one wash cloth really? Not to mention that at 10:30 at night the loud mouth people with there rude 20 kids are still outside going strong. We are in 157 and I plan on raising hell in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

On July 14, 2012 we were booked to stay at the hotel but when we entered the odor was terrible,linen on bed disgusting,mold on the wall and carpet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years!! In my opinion the hotel should been torn down and rebuilt. Its not fair to the consumer the advertisement they have online and you get there its like the hotel from hell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport

Address: 9375 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503 (Formerly Best Value Inn - Gulfport)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under NEW MANAGEMENT!!! We are now Serving complimentary hot breakfast every morning, Free WIFI and offer Weekly Rates! Come check us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Gulfport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.