We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Unique and fun place to eat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shed

The Shed
Hwy 53, Gulfport, MS
228-875-9590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 187 Restaurants in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“A very Unique and fun place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are looking for a very different dining experience this is it! As you approach the entrance the atmosphere is obviously a one of a kind unusual food experience. The collection of items the owners have picked up for the restaurent's decor will capture your amusement for hours as you "walk through" the displays of old mismatched "stuff." (some might just call it junk) but none the less it is interesting . The "indoor/outdoor" restaurant's staff are friendly and make you feel right at home. The BBQ fare is very good and will rival both Kansas City's BBQ and The Rendevous in Memphis. It is tender and flavorful with a decent price tag. We had a great time and would go back if we visit the area again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    30
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, North Dakota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place may not impress your date on its decor but the BBQ is amazing. I was able to visit The Shed with a group of people for a business trip. We were lucky enough to have buffet style food to try the brisket, chicken and pork. It was probably the best brisket I have ever had and the chicken was pretty amazing too. The desserts were also very tasty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than Rendevouz in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We used to mail order ribs in from redndevous in Memphis.. After moving to the Gulf Coast to Windance, The Shed at 53 beats all other BBQ we have ever had. Better than Donanelle's, Rendevous, Stricks...Anything we grew up with and are accustomed too... Two thumbs up! Ribs and chicken wings fall off the bones!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Always great barbeque at the Shed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

In our first trip to the shed in 4 years we were not disappointed. As others have mentioned they are still rebuilding from a fire but they are maintaining the atmosphere and the same great food. I had the briskey sandwich while my wife and son both had the ribs. They were all finger licking good and certain to challenge any in the south on their bbq!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“B B Q Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

after searching for an hour or more in Columbus, GA. on an earlier trip our son suggested we try the shed in Gulfport, MI. since we would be driving right by. Well let me tell you it was great my wife and I had the Ribs and our grandson had the pulled pork, and we were all pleased with the entire meal. Even though the place had burned down a few months it was opened for business. We can not say how pleased we were. well worth the extra time, getting there about 5 min off the interstate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shed also viewed

 

Been to The Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.