We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Gulfport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gulfport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Gulfport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Gulfport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9121 US Hwy 49, Hwy 49 & Russell Street, Gulfport, MS 39503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Gulfport
Draper, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice place to stay in Gulfport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is just off the freeway and just 5 minutes from the coast. The hotel is new. The rooms are large and clean. The breakfast is typical Choice hotels, and served in a very pleasant breakfast area just off the lobby. The front desk person gave us an excellent recommendation for lunch. Nothing negative about this hotel. I'd stay there again. This was a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANCAS, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gulfport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a response and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
19
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I visit this area every July to attend a concert and visit with friends at a local casino.
We booked two rooms this year and everything was great. No room issues, nice indoor pool, excellent a/c, the perfect bed mattress, clean, micro/frig, coffee pot, updated bathroom, adequate parking, good breakfast choices, 24hr coffee bar, safe area, right off the interstate, close to shopping including an outlet mall, close to restaurants, and a friendly & helpful staff.
The weekend we stayed a huge family reunion was being held at the hotel or nearby and the hotel was fully booked but even with that we really had no issues.
Most of our friends stay at a condo near by and requested that we change locations next year but we are happy with this hotel and will stay again next July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANCAS, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gulfport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for your kind response. Often most of us are eager to tell about the unfortunate incidents that we may occur but it is very seldom that one will go into detail about a pleasant one. Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you as well as all of our other guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calera, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel. I gave it a poor rating because of all the noise. The front desk clerk, who was very nice by the way, had to quiet some of the guest down in the lobby for being too loud. He told me there was a baby shower, a family reunion and something else big going on I couldn't remember this particular weekend. I knew then I was in trouble but too late to cancel my reservation. People wouldn't control their children, running and stomping throughout the room, jumping off the beds, and screaming. It sounded as if they were going to fall from the top floor into my room. The room itself was attractive and the bed was comfortable. I like the fact they had Directv with movie stations as well as a microwave, refrigerator, coffee, free wifi, cell phone hook ups and completely smoke free. It's close to restaurants and not too far from the beach and Island View Hotel and Casino. However, the bathroom was very small and I noticed some dried red stuff on the toilet seat (you figure it out!). Another downfall was having one of the queen beds next to the air conditioner because it blocked a lot of the air. This made it difficult to get the room at a comfortable temperature but not impossible. All in all, I would consider staying again but it wouldn't be my first choice. However, before you book this room you might want to ask the following question: Are there any family reunions, baby showers, birthdays or major events going on at this hotel? If so, don't stay because you will not get any rest unless you're one of the ones having the family reunion, baby shower, birthday or other major event.

Room Tip: You might want to consider staying on the very top floor. It might be quieter. Always ask if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANCAS, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gulfport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I want to first thank you for taking the time out to make a response. We definitely had a big eventful weekend with the family reunion, wedding party and baby shower. There were a few times when we had to quiet down the guest due to the loud tones that were coming from the group areas but they were very mindful once it was brought to there attention. We encourage anyone who has a problem with noise to contact the front desk immediately so that me rectify the problem. We have also ordered the air conditioner adjustments which would invert the air coming out where the bed would not affect air flow. These adjustments have been on back order and we are and have been eagerly awaiting them. Once again, I thank you for your response and I hope that we will see you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This has become my boyfriend and i's "spot". We live in new Orleans and love to come here for a spontaneous getaway. Get the king suite with the jacuzzi if you are traveling with just you and your honey. It wont disappoint!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANCAS, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gulfport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your response and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Front desk staff was friendly but took their time to the point that they had lines of people waiting. The hotel is convenient for the airport but nothing else is around. If you want a good night sleep, hope there is no one else around because the walls are very thin and you will hear everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANCAS, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gulfport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I would like to apologize about the line during the check in process. In most cases, the check-in process flows pretty steady but there are times when 5 or 6 cars pull up at the same time especially if their convoying with one another. We only ask that the guest be patient and bear with us so that we may ensure that all guest are checked in properly and have all the information that they may need while staying with us.
Also, if any guest has issues while staying with us concerning noise, please let the front desk agent or any hotel employee know so that me can take care of the problem-Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Used this hotel to stop over night on our trip to and from Disney. First night, was less than impressed with the pool as it was cloudy and it looked like somebody was undoing all their braids and had left them all over the pool deck and in the pool. However the room was clean and we managed to get some sleep On our way home we were shocked by a large sign in the lobby proclaiming that they would take action against loud guests and those who did not control their children yet all night we heard doors slamming and people in the hallway yelling. So much for their sign. Didn't allow my children back in the pool. Second room was also clean. Just ruined by other guests. Staff is friendly though. Just wish they would have controlled their property a bit more.

Room Tip: Higher floors seemed to be quieter for whatever reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANCAS, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gulfport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
During the summer months of June and July, our indoor heated pool is utilized extensively. Chemicals are added daily to make sure that the pool levels stay at a safe level in order that all families may enjoy it. We have a number of family reunions as well as softball and soccer groups that frequent our hotel but all are informed of our no noise policy. On the day in question, we did have to warn a few families about the noises that they were creating and also informed them that if it continued, then they would be asked to leave. We want all of our guest to enjoy everything that we have to offer and if any experiences any type of problem, then please notify the front desk immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during the 4th of july holiday week. After a 4 hour drive that consisted of rain and unexpected car trouble.... it was such a relief to finally get there. The staff quickly checked us in and helped with directions to the nearest store. We had the king jacuzzi suite and it was spectacular! very large and spacious. Everything was clean and not so much as a thread out of place. Breakfast early is really great... being a holiday the lobby filled up fast for breakfast if you waited until after 8. The cooking staff handled the rush with ease and made sure everyone had what they needed. The hotel isnt on the beach but is just a short drive there. Considering it rained most of the time, the fact that the hotel is a block from the outlet mall was a plus! We will definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Gulfport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gulfport

Address: 9121 US Hwy 49, Hwy 49 & Russell Street, Gulfport, MS 39503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gulfport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Gulfport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Gulfport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.