We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice travel stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9515 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice travel stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel seemed busy but not crowded. Lobby was fairly spacious. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean and adequately appointed for a Holiday Inn. Bed was very comfortable and furniture was in good condition. Every thing worked in the room.Not in the most exciting location but easy on and off from the Interstate and seemed to be a safe area. Although near to the airport there was no noise to interfere with sleep. As a place to stop while on a trip and get a good nights rest I would stay here again. Rate $123
Hotel restaurant had very good service but food was average and fairly priced

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LairdSiegal, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
JosephN, Thank you for your time to share these comments. We really appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel conditions and friendly staff. Hopefully you can visit again as you travel from Marco Island (what a paradise!), Please give our Kems Restaurant another try as we have recently upgraded our menu and added some interesting items. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    44
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
62
36
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Krista and Emily at the front desk were amazing! Very friendly and accomadating! Linda in the restaurant gave us excellent service! The rooms were clean and the food at the restaurant was good. My family and I would definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LairdSiegal, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
brenbren26, Thank you for complimenting our fantastic staff and hotel cleanliness. We appreciate your time to post these comments and we will share your review with all staff members mentioned. We do expect to serve you and your family in the future, when you are in our area. thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, MS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Beware that when you book your room you may or may not get the room you booked. I booked last Monday for two Queens because I had three in my party. I called at 2:30pm to request an early check in but they had none available which was understandable so I told the front desk I would be 8:30 or 9pm arriving and I wanted to make sure about my room.When I arrived at 8:30pm I was told they had overbooked by 7 rooms and I was put in a King room. One person in my party had to sleep on the floor. Very disappointed for the price of the hotel. We were planning on coming back every month with our group that stays but now we will be supporting the Hilton Garden Inn from here out. The hotel is older but well kept up for the age and busyness. It was clean. The elevators are slow. Kids liked indoor pool. Parking is not great. Good location though. Easy to get in and out. Close to outlets and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LairdSiegal, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
MSRe515, We sincerely apologize for this unacceptable circumstance, especially since you had called earlier and informed us of your arrival time. We will contact you personally to discuss further. We do appreciate your compliments regarding other aspects of our hotel, and would be greatful for the opportunity "to get it right". Thanks for your time to inform us of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times within the last 2 years and each time the staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the restaurant and bar has great food and service and the kids enjoy the swimming pool! Need I say more. Not mentioning it is located near shopping, restaurants and interstate 10. Only issue we have is the price. It is a little expensive for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LairdSiegal, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
RamFan864, We sincerely thank you and family for your continued patronage. Five recent visits is fantastic, thanks ! We are honored you have continued to stay at our hotel and really appreciate the compliments on our room conditions and restaurant. Please let us know when you are back from South Carloina so we can thank you in person, the pool will be crystal clear for the kids. Go Rams !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service, leadership, and beauty of this hotel makes it exceptional. It seems all employees do everything needed. There's no feeling of "that's not my job" attitude. The general manager, Laird, gets it right. Customers DON'T come first. Employees and the staff come first. The trickle-down effect to create the best customer experience is huge. Linda, Amber, the head chef, Chandra, Jamie -- they are all very caring, and they do a great job. You can tell they love the hotel. The cleanliness, upgraded decor, etc. is just right. The only problem is they offer free popcorn in the afternoon in the lobby (and coffee all day) and the popcorn machine broke. That's digging pretty far to find a fault <G>. I'd give this hotel a 10 rating if I could. (I forgot the head engineers' name but he was so wonderful and knowledgeable; refused to accept my tip and said "They pay me very well here. No tip necessary." WOW... I can see why this hotel won national awards. Laird, you're fantastic.

Room Tip: I like rooms near the elevator. I loved the quality of the air conditioning, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LairdSiegal, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Anita, Thank you for the wonderful comments ! We are truly excited that so many staff members contributed to making your stay so enjoyable. We will thank all involved. Please let us know when your travels bring you from Vegas back to your second home, the red carpet will be waiting ! Thanks again for your time and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I'll try to keep the negativity low. Keep in mind as we speak my carrots are thawing in the sink.

Pro's

Accepts Gov't rate and is fairly accomodating at the front desk.
Staff is friendly.
Good location with interstate access less than a minute away. Outlet mall near within walking distance.
24hr pool

Cons

- The refridgerator was set to ' freeze everything' setting when i arrived. Normally i dont check the temperature of fridges when i arrive. Almost froze insulin first night- blew up a diet dr pepper instead.
- Theres only 2 washer /dryer machines for the entire hotel. This leads to everyone stacking up around the time they are set to finish. Not a happy situation.
- Stairwells are locked to ground floor access. I like to take the stairs esp. since there are only 2 elevators that you cannot force-shut the doors to expedite the transit. Normal hotels require key for entry. This hotel just locks it.
- The 2 lamps next to the bed require hammers to turn on and off. The switches at the base cannot be actuated while laying in bed. I screw the light bulb in and out.
- Internet is pretty awful. It will never remember ip address of your device if you leave the hotel and come back or shut the unit down. Bandwidth is also painfully slow around morning time 7-9am and evening 6-9pm.
- When flushing the toilet i can hear what sounds like a 2 stroke lawnmower gasping for air in the wall from the pipes knocking.
- Breakfast- Skip this it is entirely too overpriced. Sunday 'buffet' is a continental style and you walk away minus 15$
- Dinner at the hotel restaraunt- Dined in once, decent food ok price. Service was meh had the wrong item delivered to me(no big deal) and overall slower than average serving time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LairdSiegal, Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Fiveball, Please accept our respectful apology for the less than acceptable stay at our hotel. We will address and resolve the items within our physical control. Contact me personally should your travels bring you to our area again. It appears you are from the area and we would appreciate another opportunity to "get it right". Thank you for your valuable time to share this helpful information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great place to stay for outlet shopping or if want to be near the interstate. Very clean hotel and friendly staff. Everyone seemed to be in a good moo from the ladies at the front desk to the lady making coffee. My only wish would be for my breakfast to be included with room. My family has to have a hot breakfast and 12.00 for a buffet is a little extreme. But everything else was perfect. Pool stays open 24 hours. Thank you, that saved me with the little people.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LairdSiegal, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
TyronndaB, We appreciate your time to post the compliments about our award winning hotel, and thanks for mentioning a few departments. We will pass along your comments. Yes, the outlet mall accross the street does attract a lot of our guests and really offers some great bargins ! Our entire staff will continue to demonstrate our true southern hospitality and we hope to see you soon if your travels bring you our way from Mobile. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
4.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gulfport Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaway Inn
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#10 of 28 in Gulfport
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport

Address: 9515 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gulfport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulfport
#3 Business Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Hotel Gulfport - Airport offers a convenient location. You can enjoy a relaxing stay at our Gulfport accommodations, ideally located off I-10 and Highway 49, just a few miles from downtown Gulfport, MS and the coast's beautiful beaches. Also, be sure to enjoy the complimentary airport shuttle provided by our hotel to the nearby Gulfport - Biloxi International Airport (GPT). Our hotel in North Gulfport is perfect for families, with its location near such area attractions as the Gulf Island Water Park, Gulfport Sportsplex, Ship Island Excursions, Beauvoir and the white sand beaches of the gulf coast. If shopping is your preference, try the Gulfport Outlet Mall, located less than a mile from our Gulfport hotel, where you are sure to find great bargains. Business travelers looking for lodging in Gulfport, MS will enjoy staying at our Gulfport accommodations situated near many area businesses. Some of these businesses include FedEx, Dupont, Northrop Grumman, the Seaway Industrial Park and the Memorial Hospital. Our hotel in North Gulfport also features a 24-hour business center and four flexible meeting rooms with seating for 150 people. While lodging in Gulfport, take advantage of our heated, indoor pool, hot tub, 24-hour fitness center and on-site restaurant, which offers a casual dining atmosphere where kids can eat for free. Check out our great Gulfport hotel room deals and start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport Hotel Gulfport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.