We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient to the Interstate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9515 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient to the Interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

So we're traveling to Destin from New Orleans and got hammered in a thunderstorm while on I10. An exhausting experience so we pulled off the Interstate in Gulfport...first hotel we saw was the Holiday Inn. Haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn in years but we were pretty beat up and needed to be rescued.

I was pleasantly surprised. Lobby tastefully furnished and clean, staff extremely accommodating and the rome immaculate.

Specifically requested a room that had Internet connectivity...was assured we'd be OK in the room assigned. Well...not quite. Signal was sporadic and weak, strike 1.

Hungry after the ride so we needed nourishment (about 9:00PM). Hoiiday Inn isn't known for their cuisine so our expectations weren't high. Hot roast beef sandwich was below even our lowest expectations...strike 2.

Back to the room to fall asleep watching TV...which didn't work. Strike 3

So...it was a great place to be rescued from the storm, it was clean and the staff friendly, other than that it was a bust. But, if the weather circumstances were the same and we were in the neighborhood we'd stay there again. Go figure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetCollins, Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
jax14fun, Thank you for you time to provide us with some valuable insight. Yes, our internet strength has recently been challenged. We are finding that guests are now utilizing more than one device at a time, remaining on-line longer and capturing more bandwith with larger
downloads. Our capabilities are in the process of a system upgrade to address thee new patterns. We are sorry for the slow connectivity that you experienced. Our restaurant, usually a crowd pleaser, is reviewing our menu specifications for a number of items and truly apologize for the unacceptable quality you were presented. We hope you see you in the near future, thanks again and safe travels.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
27
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Gulfport Holiday Inn several times over the past three years and each visit has been a wonderful experience. The lobby is very well-decorated and striking. The staff is extremely friendly, as well as professional, and if there is anything you need, they are very helpful in providing it. The public areas and hallways are decorated very nicely and show attention to detail. The rooms are attractive and the housekeeping department does an excellent job of keeping them clean and well stocked. In addition, the rooms come with a small fridge and microwave which is an extra bonus. Lastly, the indoor pool is great and provides hours of entertainment for our grandchildren. In summary, we felt at home and we highly recommend staying at this hotel

Room Tip: Walk-in showers are a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinsville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was surprised that they did not offer a complimentary breakfast for the rates they charge. I'm a Priority Club platinum member so I've stayed in a lot of Holiday Inns but I don't remember ever staying in one that did not provide a free breakfast. It cost me 25,000 points to stay one night in a 6,000 to 12,000 point hotel. I was given an upgraded room, but the room was so small I couldn't imagine the standard room. I would of rated it one star but the girl that waited on us at the very expensive breakfast buffet was very nice. The TV channels are sparse and the TV wasn't even working properly and the remote was broken but all that was taken care of, except for the limited channel selection.
There were a lot of drunks in the lobby and hall ways so I had to run the heater fan constantly to drown out the noise. The room I was given was also an adjoining room which I do not like and is in my profile that way.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the hall so fewer foul mouthed drunks will pass by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear David B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As a Priority Club Rewards Platinum member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations during your stay with us. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at this location one night while on Business. It is a great hotel in a great location.

Very clean, Friendly staff, It had a great workout room. Heated pool and hot tube.

The hotel is located right in the middle of many shopping and restaurant opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel both the night we arrived in Gulfport and the night before we headed home.

Holiday Inns have come a long way in recent years and this one is wonderful, for several reasons:
1. The entire staff is amazing. Everyone is friendly and helpful.
2. The place is immaculate.
3. The beds are amazingly comfortable.
4. The exercise room has Precor machines. A BIG plus!
5. The shuttle is quick and efficient (and the morning guy driving the shuttle is really nice, too!)

I wouldn't think twice before staying here again. It's truly a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

While staying at the Holiday Inn – Gulfport/Airport in October, I heard it had just won the prestigious Torchbearer Award, which is given to the top 20 Holiday Inn hotels in North America based on Guest Satisfaction Scores! And the reason is obvious everywhere you look. The staff is friendly, congenial and always smiling. The food in the on-site restaurant so good that I had the same dinner twice. The pool refreshing and the hot tub awesome. But best of all, the pillows feel like clouds of cotton and make for sweet dreams. The wafting smell of popcorn popping in the lobby in the late afternoon made this property feel like a home away from home. Definitely worth a repeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn's over the years and this is one of the nicest. Check in through Priority Club was quick and easy; the desk clerk gave us free drink coupons for the bar and a couple items (candy bars, etc.) of our choice from a 'goodie basket' behind the desk...all perks for PC members, I'm sure; anybody who stays at Holiday Inn chains and hasn't signed up should do so. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the shower was really good; much larger than standard and great shower head with plenty of pressure. The bartender was really friendly and poured a good drink. We had room service breakfast the next morning and everything was good and delivered promptly. The omelets are huge and probably enough to feed two. All in all, this was a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport

Address: 9515 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulfport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gulfport
#4 Family Hotel in Gulfport
#5 Business Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Hotel Gulfport - Airport offers a convenient location. You can enjoy a relaxing stay at our Gulfport accommodations, ideally located off I-10 and Highway 49, just a few miles from downtown Gulfport, MS and the coast's beautiful beaches. Also, be sure to enjoy the complimentary airport shuttle provided by our hotel to the nearby Gulfport - Biloxi International Airport (GPT). Our hotel in North Gulfport is perfect for families, with its location near such area attractions as the Gulf Island Water Park, Gulfport Sportsplex, Ship Island Excursions, Beauvoir and the white sand beaches of the gulf coast. If shopping is your preference, try the Gulfport Outlet Mall, located less than a mile from our Gulfport hotel, where you are sure to find great bargains. Business travelers looking for lodging in Gulfport, MS will enjoy staying at our Gulfport accommodations situated near many area businesses. Some of these businesses include FedEx, Dupont, Northrop Grumman, the Seaway Industrial Park and the Memorial Hospital. Our hotel in North Gulfport also features a 24-hour business center and four flexible meeting rooms with seating for 150 people. While lodging in Gulfport, take advantage of our heated, indoor pool, hot tub, 24-hour fitness center and on-site restaurant, which offers a casual dining atmosphere where kids can eat for free. Check out our great Gulfport hotel room deals and start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport Hotel Gulfport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.