We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical at Econo Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1552 Sunset Dr., Grenada, MS 38901 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Grenada
Dothan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Economical at Econo Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Overall, a nice motel. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. I work as a charter/tour bus driver, and was in Grenada on a charter, along with another driver. The only complaint I had was that my room (non smoking) had been smoked in. I am allergic to cigarette smoke, and that was going to be a problem, but the other driver switched with me, and that room was great. The room was clean, there were no problems with plumbing, or bathroom facilities. Shower and tub were very nice, clean, and there was good hot water. Breakfast room was clean, furniture was nice, and breakfast items included hot sausage gravy and biscuits, waffles, cereal, fruit, muffins, coffee, and juices.

Room Tip: If you are in an RV or other large vehicle, the staff does not mind if you park in the lot on the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie H, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Ron,

We would like to take the time to thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We would also like to take the time to let you know that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that our non-smoking rooms remain such. We apologize for the occurrence that you experienced with the smell of smoke in your room. We have since cleaned that room and the smell of smoke is no longer there. We thank you for bringing that to our attention so that we could resolve that. We hope that you allow us to provide you with a pleasurable stay again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Staff of Econo Lodge Grenada, MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
FAIRFIELD
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We chose this motel in Grenada partly because it was the right distance we wanted to drive, but also because of TripAdvisor reviews. We were not at all disappointed. As this was formerly a Comfort Inn, the rooms are larger than we've previously found at Econo Lodges. The non-smoking rooms seemed well segregated from the smoking rooms (ours was room 109 on the back side of the motel). Room entries are from the outside, not from an interior corridor, so that also cuts down on smoke issues. Our room was handicap accessible (we prefer them because they usually have tall toilets and good grab bars in the shower). The king-size bed was comfortable, and there were adequate lights and plugs. The one odd thing was that there was basically no closet in that room, but a hanging rack in the spacious bathroom. Also, the microwave and fridge were recessed in the wall (except for their doors, their working parts were actually inside the bathroom). The heat worked so well (it was quite cold outside) that most of the time we just left it turned off. We found a wonderful Italian restaurant and gave the front desk information about it.

The front desk clerks at both check-in and check-out were very pleasant and welcoming, and we were given a call in our room about ten minutes after checking in, asking if we were happy with our accommodations (we were). The furniture is old, and the TV is not flat screen, but we had a very comfortable night's rest. Breakfast was much more than the usual stale donuts we've gotten at other Econo Lodges, and there was a pleasant attendant keeping an eye on things. We would stay here again if the opportunity presented itself.

Room Tip: Room 109 is very smoke-free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have no complaint, it's a convenient location for when we visit the area. The staff are professional and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is an outdoor pool and closed when we were there last. Breakfast is always plentiful. For the price that we pay, it's an exceptional value and we will be back.

Room Tip: We prefer to stay on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We needed a good, clean, cheap place to stay for one night on our way to Orange Beach. We picked this one based on the reviews even though it took us out of our way for about a half hour. It was no surprise that all the reviews were correct. Friendly staff, clean rooms, easy access to interstate. They even had a continental breakfast which was good. We will stay here again when we come through here. They 4 instead of 5 is only because it is still a bit out dated but they are working on it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjcshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at this Econo Lodge several times and it is always the same! Great customer service,very friendly staff and nice clean rooms!!! Ms. Kristina always make sure your stay is great and does all she can to meet your request! She will even call your room once you check in to make sure you are pleased!! Their breakfast and coffee is also good!! It's not watered down coffee and powdered eggs. I think most hotels could learn something from this Econo Lodge! They know what it takes to keep a customer happy! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Bergeron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great, clean motel for the price! Just picked it based on reviews and availability! Would stay here again if I was in the area! Bed was comfortable and there was a recliner chair also!
Great, clean motel for the price! Just picked it based on reviews and availability! Would stay here again if I was in the area! Bed was comfortable and there was a recliner chair also!
Great, clean motel for the price! Just picked it based on reviews and availability! Would stay here again if I was in the area! Bed was comfortable and there was a recliner chair also!
Great, clean motel for the price! Just picked it based on reviews and availability! Would stay here again if I was in the area! Bed was comfortable and there was a recliner chair also!
Great, clean motel for the price! Just picked it based on reviews and availability! Would stay here again if I was in the area! Bed was comfortable and there was a recliner chair also!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Traveling through headed to New Orleans and needed a place to sleep. Stopped here based on reviews. Pretty average, clean, a little dated. $30 cheaper than other top rated places. I would definitely stay again if I was in the area. Comfortable bed, clean carpets :-) and good location off I-55 with plenty places to eat nearby. Didn't eat breakfast, so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoPlaceLikeHome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grenada
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Grenada
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grenada
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grenada
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Grenada
Knights Inn Grenada
#5 of 13 in Grenada
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grenada Inn
Grenada Inn
#9 of 13 in Grenada
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1552 Sunset Dr., Grenada, MS 38901 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Grenada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Grenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grenada
Grenada Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing