We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, very tasty and great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Chimney

Copper Chimney
330 South Terrace | Shop No. 1, South Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6162, Australia
08 9336 4414
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good meal, very tasty and great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed a midweek dinner with family and would certainly return. Food was authentic, promptly served with a good menu and reasonable wine list for this type of restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“High Quality Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We originally booked a table for 8 people here, but changed it at short notice to 8 on a saturday evening. the restaurant were fine with the change. We were greeted at the door and shown to the table. The restaurant is fully licensed, but we bought wine inadvertantly. They were happy for us to drink our own wine.

We were given filtered, cold tap water as soon as we were seated. The menu is extensive and quite different to normal Indian restaurants in Perth. There was all of the standards, and some unusual dishes as well. We ordered a mixture of both Vegetarian and non Vegetarian dishes with Naans and rice. We ordered some pappadums to start with, they came out quickly and were hot and crisp, they were served with a raita and another condiment.

The main meals were delayed (it was a busy evening) so we were given extra pappadums by way of an apology. All of the mains were well received when they came, they were hot, fresh and well cooked, with great flavour. the nan bread was exceptional hot and dry. The portions were good, with some being left over to take home, which they put in cartons without fuss. After the meal they brought out various complimentary indian sweets, which were delicious.

There was a good atmosphere about the place and the prices are reasonable. definitely one to go to agian.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Taste of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

By sheer chance we stumbled by this restaurant going for a drive - have to say it's the best curry I've ever had in Australia - great service too. Will definitely share with friends and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Taken a while to review - you will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have enjoyed Copper Chimney as something of a local eatery for many months and have never been disappointed. We BYO ($6.50), although it is fully licensed. Service is excellent, which is fairly rare in Perth. We have been with family and friends. Some tables for 4 are fairly small, which can be challenging with shared dishes. We have rarely exceeded $100 for 4 and usually leave with a doggy bag or two. For the quality, we don't know anything like it. The food.... We recommend the shared starters ('tasting plates'), and have tried them all, although we don't always get them - despite being huge and excellent value! We nearly always order some vegetarian dishes (good range) and the biryani/ pulao dishes. We enjoy the vegi pulao and the prawn biryani, which both come with raita. The masala dosa is a spiced potato vegetarian dish, and we all adore it. It is spectacular and so tasty, and comes with condiments and fantastic flavours - amazing. We generally order garlic Naan. Although we have tried so many dishes now, none have been disappointing. I have been to the Maya a few times and the Copper Chimney is way better value, way better service and way better food. Sorry I didn't take photos, thinking there would be many already - especially of the dosas..... maybe next time. Presentation is good. We cannot comment on dessert - we never have any appetite for dessert. You probably need to book. We tend to eat early, but every table is normally full inside by the time we leave - even on weeknights and even from our first visit, soon after it opened. There are many regulars like ourselves.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lunch or dinner Copper Chimney is a must if you like good quality Indian food. We have never been disappointed with the entire dining experience. Good surroundings, friendly staff and a great menu. Recommend booking to avoid disappointment

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Chimney also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
East Fremantle, Fremantle
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Copper Chimney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Chimney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.