We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for peace and tranquillity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midgard Country Estate

Save Saved
You added Midgard Country Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midgard Country Estate
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Farm 191 | 60 Minutes from Windhoek or Okahandja, Midgard 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free WiFi Internet
Ranked #1 of 1 Midgard B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice place for peace and tranquillity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I went to Midgard with friends in total 4 families - 8 Adults, 5 kids 0 – 6 yrs of age.
Rooms quite large with area to entertain guest and with bunk beds for kids which kids were excited about.

Enjoyed facilities such as
+ 3 swimming pool - one of which was a swimming pool for kids where you can relax and watch kids play.
+ Sauna
+ Gym
+ Kids play area
+ Guest can climb up the mountain close to the resort.
+ A safari trip with kids - which was paid for seperately.

Breakfast : Ok
Lunch : Afternoon not really hot food.
Dinner : Hot meals prepared and have a buuffet. Eat till your heart content.
After dinner, little areas for camps fires where we could tell tales by moonlight.

Problems
We had was a power cut (our room and the other family's room) at night through till the morning and there was no one to contact via room phones till the morning.

The bunk beds had no barriers as my daughter rolls off to the hard floor when sleeping at night.
As a safety precaution, think these bunk beds should have a barrier to prevent kids from falling down such height.

Aside from that it was a great place to stay for a holiday, for the kids and for some peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Pros: We (husband, wife and two kids) recently spend a weekend at Midgard. This was one of the best lodges we have visited in Namibia. We were very well received by your warm, courteous and helpful staff, and the golf cart is a fantastic idea. The room was spacious, neat and very homely. The food was great and the whole atmosphere very relaxing. The children especially enjoyed the huge expanses of well-tendered lawns and gardens; and they could hardly stop swimming and playing. Your lodge is one of the few (that I have visited) in the entire SADC region where chilren were considered in the planning (play ground, kiddies pool). Please keep up the good work! We will surely be regular visitors whenever time and budget allows. Cons: The lack of an "Info folder/brochure" in the rooms is very irritating. One doesn't even know what to do or who to contact in case of emergency. The absence of room service and mini bar/mini fridge in the rooms is very disappointing. It is understandable that you might want to encourage guests to make use of the facilities provided but if you, for example, buy a drink from the bar you want to have it cold when you take later in the comfort of your room.

Room Tip: Information brochure, mini bar/fridge, room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Midgard estate was calming. With its many trees and tranquil environment it felt comforting. To add to that the staff are all very welcoming and kind. I'd go back a million times and tell my friends! The activities were fun and there was always something somewhere for every age in my family to do.

Room Tip: None at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wikus B, General Manager at Midgard Country Estate, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Elizabeth

We thank you for the lovely compliments regarding the ambiance & level of service you experienced at Midgard.

Kindly note that we will share with the team that was instrumental in making your stay a memorable one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was there for my husband birthday yesterday with family, but was very very dissapointed in the service, since the waiters have their own time and at times totally ignore the order. and the food that was available was a total disaster as it was from the previous day, very very dissapointed for such a high rated lodge!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wikus B, General Manager at Midgard Country Estate, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Angeline M
Following your experience at Midgard Country Estate, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment on this occasion.

As a result of your comments received today, I have now had the opportunity to investigate the issues raised with the relevant departmental personnel and you may be assured that immediate retraining has been implemented to ensure there is no future repetition.

I realize that you visited Midgard for the second time and understand that the service you received on Sunday 24th November 2013 was totally unacceptable.
Recently the hotel has implemented a new ‘lunch Braai menu’ for Weekends and with this come some ‘operational challenges’, like keeping salads fresher much longer in the outdoors. The issues regarding the food presentation are unacceptable and I can assure you there will be no repetition going forward.

I appreciate receiving your comments as it only by receiving comments such as yours that we can continue to refine and review the standards we offer to our guests.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your party back to Midgard Country Estate at some time in the future, to allow us the opportunity to demonstrate that your experience was not indicative of our usual standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Been to Midgard a few times this year and it has been well worth it. Stayed over and also had Sunday lunch visits. The service was superb, I especially like the warm welcome starting at the front gate all the way up to reception. The big swimming pools are a welcome attraction. The bowling alley is one of the many places that can really keep you busy!For me, the game drive was worth it, even for a Namibian who has seen all the animals before!!! The scenic viewpoint is absolutely amazing!!! The vast space, huge trees and well kept gardens provide a serene and tranquil environment. The gravel road leading up to the lodge is beautiful, and you will spot oryx and other game as you drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Midgard is a massive property with lovely surroundings. I do think that it is an establishment suitable for a family visit during summertime only. We stayed there during the month of August and were quite surprised that we were one of only two rooms occupied (out of a 60+ room establishment).
The sheer size of the property makes it quite difficult to maintain and there are a few signs of decay.
The rooms are extremely spacious and clean (and a bit more modern than the exterior of the property) and in my opinion is the best thing about Midgard.
The breakfast is also very good compared to lunch and dinner that were below par.

I do not think that it is a first or last night stop for your trip to Namibia, but more suitable for a summer family trip if you have 6-12 year old children. It is also more suitable for conferences in my opinion.

I am torn about what rating to give Midgard as the potential for a great establishment is certainly there. Will stick to average for now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be'er Sheva Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My mother-in-law booked us at Midgard for another taste of Namibia. Again, I continue to be amazed by this beautiful country.

After a drive over 60+ km of gravel road to get to Midgard from Windhoek, someone from the US or Western Europe may feel a bit tired from the bumpy drive. Welcome to Africa! There are a lot of roads like this in Namibia and other parts of Africa. At the end of this drive, there were some initial reservations about the Estate when entering because of the old building that need serious attention. However, once you arrive at the Guest House and facilities, it was amazing.

The Estate has recently undergone an ownership change from what we understand. The staff and especially Manager's went out of their way to ensure we had a truly fantastic stay. There is a lot to do already at this retreat in the Namibian wilderness, ... and I would welcome any family to come and stay.

I know that I would like to come back here for a longer stay next time.

Truly remarkable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Midgard Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midgard Country Estate

Address: Farm 191 | 60 Minutes from Windhoek or Okahandja, Midgard 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Midgard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Midgard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Midgard Country Estate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midgard Country Estate is located only 60 minutes or 85 km northeast of Windhoek and only 70 km from Hosea International Airport in the unspoiled Otjihavero Mountains. An ideal family hide- away, first or last stop for International visitors, intimate meetings, team-building events or weddings.The founder of the Namibian Conglomerate, Ohlthaver & List, Carl List, originally acquired Midgard Country Estate in 1937. His son, Carl Werner List originally farmed the 16,000-hectare Estate and developed this private and intimate world: a household name in Namibia. Today you are invited into this very private world to enjoy the tranquility whilst marveling at the pioneering German Settler spirit, which gave birth to it all. Midgard, a word found in Old Norse, Middle English and High German languages has varying meanings but is popularly thought to be a paradise where the earth rises again, fertile and green, creating a protected world and a safe “empire” for the people.It is an intimate world of its own, which only offers 46 newly decorated and fully equipped rooms, the Main Dining Room & Bar, the Boma, two swimming pools and Pool Bar & BBQ, Gym and Sauna, private Skittling Alley or Kegel Bahn all spaciously situated in a vast sprawling country garden bordering the banks of the Swakop River as it meanders through the Estate on its way to the Atlantic Ocean at Swakopmund. Activities consist of either doing absolutely nothing or discovering Hiking and Mountain Trails, driving along 4x4 tracks, playing Volley Ball, Tennis, Table Tennis or outdoor Chess, Star Gazing, and then viewing the Vintage Car Collection.One of the Estate’s major attractions is a Sundowner Drive or Nature Game Drive to Hilltop for an amazing sunset accompanied by traditional “sundowners”. Morning and afternoon Nature Game Drives through the separate 2,000-hectare Nature Reserve along the Swakop River will open up an experience clearly confirming what life was like on a traditional Namibian Farming and Game Estate in years gone by. Wildlife found here includes Giraffe, Blue and Black Wildebeest, Oryx, Kudu, Hartebeest, Eland, Warthog, Baboons, and smaller antelope species such as the Steenbok. Birding along the riverfront can also be rewarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Midgard Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midgard Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.