We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!! 10/10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muthaiga Black Leopard Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olderkesi Private Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muthaiga Black Leopard Safari Camp
C 14 Keekorok | Masai Mara, Olderkesi Private Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 001000, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Amazing!!! 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Just a spectacular place all around.
Service 10/10
Food 10/10
Accommodation 10/10
Safari Guides/Trackers 10/10

This camp exceeded all expectations. All staff are extremely well informed and pass on a wealth of information.
It is very apparent that all owners and staff are passionate about their work and the wildlife.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We are experienced travelers with this being our first safari in Africa. We were in awe 24/7 during our 4 night stay at Muthaiga Safari Camp and are very thankful we chose them. Every detail of our stay was outstanding....accommodations, surroundings, staff, meals, service, vehicle, safaris, surprises, and the incredible abundance & varieties of wildlife. Our guide/driver & spotter were amazing, so knowledgeable, non intrusive & respectful of all animals which enabled us to be true observers of it all. I cannot say enough about the wonderful team of staff, the camp, location, accommodations and such authentic experiences. This is the best way to experience a safari & is tops on the bucket list, I am so glad we did it this way and would love to return. Thank you again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

It's hard to describe how wonderful my stay in Impiripiri camps was. I wanted to do a safari in Masai Mara and I was expecting it to be good but it has been much better than "good". I am quite an experienced traveller and I have visited many countries, been to many hotels, done many treks but nothing compare with what I have experienced in Impiripiri.
- The safari: I was in an opened jeep with the driver (guide) and a Masai warrior to spot animals. We saw so many animals even though it was the end of the animal migration. Because we had a small vehicule we could get very close to each animals. Some other camps provides closed van or even some types of 4x4 buses: I felt so frustrated for the people in these type of cars.
-The camp: pure luxury! Tents are so confortable. When you're not in the reserve,You can have a rest on your private terrasse or on one of the main tent. While relaxing you can look at the fantastic landacapes around the camp. Not to mention the service: the food is delicious. And if you decide to go for an early safari in the morning to see animal before the sunrise, you'll get your breakfast in the middle reserve: so cool!
-The people: last but not least, you will meet wonderfull people. The camp owner have so many stories to tell and are so friendly. You feel immediatly at home. The rest of the staff is so helpful too, always there to provide you with anything you need. I felt so spoiled during my stay there, almost like a princess!
I am not sure when I will be able to go back to the camp but I will but next time I will try to bring my familly with me

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We highly recommend Impiripiri, wonderful location, wonderful camp with a great view, family atmosphere, great guides and finally wonderful evening talks next to the fireplace with the manager and owners. This was the second time we have been to Impiripiri and we hope there will be a 3rd time! It´s the right place to stay for everybody who develops an allergy when seeing the Mara become a zoo with more minibuses than animals!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I highly recommend Mathaiga Safari camp and truly cannot say enough good things about my experience there. The staff were very professional, helpful, and honest. The guides went above and beyond to make the experience everything I was looking for. I could not have dreamed up better guides for the safari. They were truly nice to be around and talk to and were extremely knowledgable about the animals and the area. The food was fantastic and plentiful. They took the time to inquire about food preferences and restrictions before we even arrived and accomated very nicely. The facilities were just beautiful and very clean. The extra special touch was after we had left, they knew we had a long drive ahead back to another part of Kenya, and even called when we were on the road to see if we had made it safely. How awesome is that? If you're trying to find a great place tfrom which o experience the Mara, I would truly recommend Mathaiga as a great place to go.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

The staff and facilities were outstanding. The guides and spotters went above and beyond to make sure we had the best possible experience! The food and accomodations were 5 star. I can't wait to bring my whole family to experience a safari the Muthaiga camp way!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I visited Muthaiga Safari Camp together with about 20 friends, for an amazing 3 day/2 night stay. The staff was caring, accommodating, and fun to talk to. They know their animals, birds, and plants, but they are also really knowledgeable about Kenyan history and culture. We arranged to get picked up early in Nairobi and travel to the camp by Land Cruiser, giving us an opportunity to see the Rift Valley first-hand as opposed to flying over it. We spent the day driving and looking at some souvenir shops, but still arrived in time to spend the afternoon and early evening driving around the Masai Mara. We had an incredible dinner, rested in amazing "tents" (if you want to call them that, they are more like hotel rooms), and enjoyed the company of the staff. The next day we awoke early, had an incredible breakfast, then left around 6AM and drove around the Masai Mara until dark. We enjoyed a picnic lunch at the Mara River, watching the hippos and crocs down below us. That night, we enjoyed a fabulous dinner, followed by an incredible cultural display of singing and dancing around the fire by the Maasai staff, in their colorful tribal clothing. Their guttural sounds, singing, dancing, and jumping was absolutely mesmerizing, and one of the highlights of our trip.

Between the first and second days, we literally saw every animal on the list of Masai Mara animals to see, except for a leopard. Including a black rhino and her baby! It was a breathtaking, exhilarating, and just plain fun day. The last day we drove through the Masai Mara for the morning, meandering our way back to Nairobi. We traveled on back roads that took us past many bomas (Maasai family houses), stopped at a few shops, and arrived back at Nairobi in the evening.

We had the time of our lives, and we would not hesitate to return to Muthaiga Safari Camp again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muthaiga Black Leopard Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthaiga Black Leopard Safari Camp

Address: C 14 Keekorok | Masai Mara, Olderkesi Private Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 001000, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve > Olderkesi Private Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Olderkesi Private Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Leopard Retreat is your home away from home in the Maasai Mara. The camp offers you a unique personalized experience, in one of the last remaining unspoilt areas of the Mara. The camp is situated in 380 acres of our private leased land, nestled on the side of a hill with magnificent views over one of the most beautiful sceneries in the world. The lush woodlands, hills and two fresh water springs on our site, offer a unique experience of total privacy, away from the busy Masai Mara minibus's. Located in the Olderkesey Conservancy, the camp can be reached from the Keekorok airstrip served by scheduled flights from Nairobi, Mombasa, Malindi & Diani. The drive from Keekorok takes you through valleys and plains, across seasonal rivers and over hills, made famous by "Out of Africa". An experience that will stay with you for many years to come. As you approach the camp you will encounter roaming Masai Morans, dense woodlandsland with lush vegetation, fresh water springs, sweeping views, and grassy hills. The camp is located at an altitude of 1800 Mts, malaria free with no required vaccinations. The Mara is world famous for its abundat wildlife; Elephants, Giraffes, Zebras, Gazelles, Lions and Wildebeests live undisturbed following the rhythm of nature. Buffalo, Zebra & Impala regularly visit the camp's fresh water hole at night. The camp consists of seven luxury safari tents (each one is dedicated to a famous person who has lived in Kenya : Karen Blixen, Beryl Markam, J. Alexander Hunter, F. Courtney Selous, Philip Percival, Denys Finch Hatton and Roy) and two safari villa (dedicated to the famous hunter Berkeley Cole and to Lord Delamere). The safari villas have two en-suite bedrooms respectively 180 and 205 sq. m., with comfortable colonial furniture and a personal butler.The cuisine is a highlight of Black Leopard Retreat. We are proud of our home made Italian food, served with good Italian , South African and French wines.For the the more dynamic the first safari starts at dawn, the best time to view the animals. Guests can wake up with a cup of coffee or tea served on the tent veranda. Breakfast consists of a rich buffet with cakes, croissants, sandwiches, toasts, cornflakes and accompanied by coffee, tea & fresh fruits. Lunch is served at 1.pm, but clients can choose to have a bush lunch served on along the river banks, on top of hill overlooking the Masai mara and Serengeti, or simply on teh wide open plains. Tea time at five o’clock is a ritual with homebaked cakes. If you wish, you can go for a safari at dusk, exactly when the lion starts hunting. Appetizers with ‘pizzette’, ‘samosa’ and ‘bruschette’ wine and beer is served around the fire at sunset. Candle light dinner is generally served at eight thirty p.m. consiting of two first courses of your choice, two second courses, several side dishes, dessert. Coffee or spirits are served around the fire, in the starlight. This is the magic time of Maasai story tales : legend tells about a big black leopard that lurks near the camp, difficult to see in the dark but always present and heard. The safari villa, with a surface of about 185sq.ft., is located in a wonderful area surrounded by a luxurious woodland served by natural fresh water source. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muthaiga Black Leopard Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Muthaiga Black Leopard Safari Camp to your Saves list