We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks...best in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Hickory Steak House

Old Hickory Steak House
1301 Highway 45 N, Columbus, MS 39705-2109
662-328-9793
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 87 restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great steaks...best in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Love the steaks here. Have been there many times and will go back.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    18
    9
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The steaks are wonderful! They only have steak and potatoes...salads. They did offer a steak for two.... with two potatoes and twol salads. very good and a great deal for a couple!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“THIS IS STEAK!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My family and I have been eating here for almost 30 years. The steaks are fabulous and the taste is just what you want in a grilled steak. Nothing fancy here - just fabulous food!! When you get ready to go eat steak, you don't want to sit down to fine linens, worry about which fork to use, and worrying about having to dress up. When I go eat steak, I want to sit down to the finest piece of meat that I can get, cooked to perfection, a good hot baked potato with sour cream and butter with a little salad on the side and a big glass of sweet tea to wash it down. Well - you are probably following me right down the path to where I'm going and that's Old Hickory Steak House. All of the above is true and more. The cook just puts simple marination on a fine cut steak and lets the heat do the rest. Don't pass this place by just because it looks small and old. You will be missing a treat. Go on in, sit down, kick back and enjoy the real taste of the South - the finest cooked meat at a more than reasonable price. I can hear you talking out loud right now - well, he tried to tell me so!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etheslvill, AL 35461
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Steak at it's finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is an old and established steakhouse. The steaks are seasoned well with a bit of a 'Dales' taste. The atmosphere and decor have a 'roadhouse' feel. Nothing fancy, but they make up for it in taste.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus MS
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The menu is steak, steak, and you can also get steak....But it's done well (as it should be).
There is just something about charcoal grilling that gives steak a great flavor. I've been here
many times....they rarely miss on the temp of your meat. This is a very rustic environment, very informal and not particularly romantic. You get a baked potato, bread, and salad with dressing container brought to the table. No Frills. Just Good Steak.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hickory Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Old Hickory Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Hickory Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.