We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for great barbecue but was disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abe's

Abe's
616 N State St, Clarksdale, MS 38614
662-624-9947
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 40 Restaurants in Clarksdale
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Saltillo, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Went for great barbecue but was disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband was visiting Clarksdale for the weekend, had always heard about Abe's, decided to try it and was not impressed at all. Ribs were tough and the slaw was not good. The service was ok but the food was not what I had in mind for great barbecue. I guess if you have barbecue at Corky's or Interstate in Memphis you are kinda of spoil for anything less.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    48
    31
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you go to Clarksdale.... Try Abe's. Awesome! We had the pulled pork bbq sammich... Located right at the crossroads behind Delta Donut

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksdale, Mississippi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just ate there last weekend, and it was fantastic. I had the Big Abe pork BBQ sandwich, but my friends ordered ribs that looks amazing. Everyone in our party loved Abe's. Yum!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ate here and was pleasantly surprised. We both ordered the pork sandwich and I am really not a fan of slaw on my pork but there slaw is a vinegar and oil and works well with their sandwiches. We also ordered the tamales. These were to die for. The staff was friendly and service was quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“if you love your ribs...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Unpretentious, generous, delicious and easy on the pocket. Doesn't get much better than that. Our eyes proved to be bigger than our stomachs and we continued to enjoy our "doggie bags" in the wee hours of the morning (after a evening of blues downtown).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe's also viewed

 

Been to Abe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.