We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Green Tomatoes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ground Zero Blues Club

Ground Zero Blues Club
Blues Alley, 0, Clarksdale, MS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 restaurants in Clarksdale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
West Hartford, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fried Green Tomatoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great music including a jam sessions with some locals. Snack food was good. Not into the fried tamales which were just fried balls of black beans.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    45
    34
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited in February and the service was superb - we met one of the owners who introduced himself and seemed genuinely interested in where we were from etc. Only live music on some days so pick your days to get the best out of this great place - lots of character and great blues memorabilia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, la
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Fun place to visit. We had some good old Southern food, fried green tomatoes and catfish po-boys. Very casual place. If it's your first visit you can pick a spot on the wall and autograph it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We popped in for lunch and were amazed at what a dive it is, but the staff are very friendly and the food is good. We had the BBQ nachos, which were enjoyable. I've never seen so much graffiti in one place. Definitely worth a look.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were there for the Sunflower River Gospel and Blues festival this year. On the Saturday of the event we were enjoying the music and decided to walk over and try the place. Honestly we went because Morgan Freeman is the owner. The decor is just what one would expect for a blues joint. There was a band playing and it was hard to converse but what would you expect, it's a blues club. Tones of "atmosphere"! The waitress was just wonderful and funny. We both tried the catfish and were blown away. I have had catfish from all over and just like any "good ol' boy" am somewhat of an expert, or at least I think I am. They were busy as all get out due to the festival going on but nothing suffered. We both agreed that this was hands down the best catfish we have ever had. We plan to come back again. I don't know how everything else on the menu is and don't know if I will ever know because I can't see going there and not getting that fish. It was so good that we actually tipped the folks in the kitchen. Clarksdale is a great place with an amazing history and Ground Zero is a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Zero Blues Club also viewed

 

Been to Ground Zero Blues Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ground Zero Blues Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.