We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food with a Lebanese Twist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rest Haven

Rest Haven
419 N State Street, Clarksdale, MS
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Clarksdale
Cuisines: Lebanese
Description: American / Lebanese cooking. Locals recommended for a breakfast and it was worth going. Great food, friendly staff
Restaurant details
Description: American / Lebanese cooking. Locals recommended for a breakfast and it was worth going. Great food, friendly staff
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfort Food with a Lebanese Twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

A Lebanese family staed this resturaunt many moons ago and I believe there are two generations working there. Great breakfast for many of the farmers and hunters from the area, lunch and dinner have some Lebanese specials including very tasty "kibbie". Good solid food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Slow service & food was just ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It took us over 20 minutes to have someone take our order as they wait on locals first. After we ordered, it was another 30 minutes to get our breakfast. Restaurant was not busy when we ordered as almost every table had their food already. Once it arrived, it really wasnt worth waiting for...disappointing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The BEST chili cheese burger ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I grew up in Clarksdale and have been going to Rest Haven since 1960. The food is consistently good, and the owners are friendly and always on site. The pie is unbelieveable! You can't go wrong!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rest Haven is an Eat Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

It was a shade past 2 O'clock in the afternoon when the Rest Haven sign came into view. I pulled up in a front row parking space and walked right in. It was like I had entered a cafe from years past. I was greeted by the owner, who wanted to know if I wanted some popcorn she had just made. Near the back of the restaurant was a group of local men who appeared to be having a great time visiting and drinking coffee. I ordered the chicken Parmesan with spaghetti and it was wonderful. Even though I did not have room, I had to try the coconut pie. It was even better. A genuine family restaurant experience where everybody pitches in. It is too bad that every town does not have a Rest haven and it is Clarksdale's good fortune that it does.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nothing to brag about......at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast. The place had a few people there, but it wasn't packed and we didn't wait to be seated. Wasn't sure if coffee was self serve or not, we did see people getting up and getting it themselves. Like someone else mentioned, we had another customer refill our coffee cups! After our order was finally taken, the wait for the food seemed like forever (only because it was). We would have left but this town is a tad shy of breakfast spots. When the food did finally arrive, surprise, surprise, some of it was cold. Next time we drive through here, we will do just that, DRIVE THROUGH.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rest Haven also viewed

 
Clarksdale, MS
 

Been to Rest Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rest Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.