We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Save
You added Shack Up Inn to your Saves list
001 Commissary Circle, Clarksdale, MS 38614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This place rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I have stayed twice at "The Shack Up Inn" coming all the way from Australia, with the sole purpose of staying there whilst travelling through Clarksdale on our way to New Orleans for Jazz Fest. The perfect enviroment steeped in history and music. Beds are great, rooms are awesome, shacks all individual, highly recommended for those interested in music and the delta

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    120
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
69
318
48
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This place is an old cotton plantation right outside of Clarksdale. Some of the shacks were genuine sharecroppers' shacks, and they show it. If you like a nice, new, clean place, this isn't the place for you. My partner, friends, and I loved it, though, as the ambiance was perfect. For an old wooden shack, it was pretty clean, and the folks who ran the place were friendly. The bed we had was fine, and there were lots of cool signs and things stuck to the walls. We even had a old upright piano in our shack. They have a fully stocked gift shop, in case you need mementos of your stay. We stayed two nights, and one of the nights, they had a blues band in the common area. The other night we went into town and saw Watermelon Slim at Ground Zero Blues Club...all in all it was a great time!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Really worth visiting - friendly staff. Shack was original with some novel features.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

exactly as described - certainly an experience, lots of interesting items on the site ranging from vintage radios, photos, old cars, old machinery - good ambiance, the handbasin and fridge were certainly authentic so don't expect pristince sanitary ware. The shower was excellent and better than some in modern hotels! The bed was also very comfortable - effective air conditioning. Towels provided but are of the vintage variety and not "thick, white hotel towels" but they were clean. Coffee provided - all in all a memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This was certainly one of the best places I've ever stayed, and I travel quite a bit in the states and around the world. On the outside, the shacks look like they've been there rotting for 150 years, but on the inside the Cadillac shack was immaculately clean with a kitchen and walls covered with various plantation implements and blues posters. It had a television set to B.B. Kings Sirius Blues Channel, and a working cd player with Howlin' Wolf cd's to play. The rustic porch with four rusty old chairs was perfect for an evening guitar strum. But the best, of course, was that the room had a working Rhodes electric piano with amplifier - and on the shelf was Balzac's Old Goirot....sweet, Southern bliss. I only wish I had more time to spend here....(And Clarksdale, itself, is a blast.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

You can't beat this place. There is so much history and glorious things to see that you feel a little overwhelmed by it all. We came to soak up the Delta and it's going to be ard to leave. Wonderful history, ambiance, people, music, charm and and and....

Don't miss a chance to stay here....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

stayed for 3 nites wish it could of been longer,the staff was very helpful--best sleep i have had in years great beds--close to good blues and food--not a place for kids--truly enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Address: 001 Commissary Circle, Clarksdale, MS 38614
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shack Up Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.