We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says in the label” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner
Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner
1401 Hume Hwy. | Sydney Road, Fawkner, Moreland, Victoria 3060, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Fawkner
Nth East Vic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Does what it says in the label”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm a student which visits Melbourne often and budget Ibis is far superior to the university student accommodation I'm used to in Maribyrnong, which incidentally is a dodgy slum. Ibis is superior and is the same price as the student accommodation and I get an ensuit, comfortable bed a good TV AND I don't have to provide my own linen! It is very quiet and the turnover of people is fast because it is used mostly by people waiting for flights. It guess everything depends on your perspective.

Room Tip: A room on the South side is good because there seems to always be a collection of males (and or) par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    31
    17
    35
See reviews for
17
29
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location, good basic room for price. Good water pressure. Secure. Would have been nice for someone to come and make the bed and clear the bin each morning. Television worked although only basic channels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Budget accomodation... really basic/no frills. Bed comfortable. Toiler/shower is a plastic box (ergonomics was not the best subject of its designer), while sink is in the room.
Internet is NOT free despite some sites reports so, but 5$ per 30min... so if anyone needs it, better to choose a different, close motel in Sydney road (better rooms and free WiFi).
Some of the personnel is nice, some not.
Gowrie station (on Upfield railway/metro line) is 10 minutes walk away, trains to city centre every 20-30min (this is good), travel duration about 30minutes.
Overall just ok for those willing to be so much budget as possibile, have a car and interested to be close to Tullamarine airport or in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Island, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I had been driving all night from up north and were concerned as every hotel we saw coming in had a no vacancy. Finally we spied the Ibis budget and having stayed at the Ibis in Glen Waverly before decided it should be alright - "budget" just means no frills - doesn't it? Well we weren't too put off by the kiosk check-in (though it didn't give you an option of changing your mind and there wasn't any way of checking the room out before paying). After paying in advance at the kiosk (the card opens the door to the hotel) we then had to drag our bags up two flights as there wasn't an elevator. The hallway was dingy and I wasn't exactly expecting much as we opened the door to our room. I have to say it lived up to my expectations as this was the oddest room I've ever been in. The bunked bed had some kind of odd configuration of another bunk over our heads which incorporated the hanging space and was discolored underneath where someone had stubbed out their cigarettes (this was supposed to be a non smoking room) it reeked of smoke and the carpets were caked with dust in the corners and along the edge. The tv could have been considered an antique it was so old and the ensuite was one of those odd plastic pods that you can never get clean and was yellowed along the seams. The ONLY good thing I could say about the room is that the sheets were clean, though I ripped the dingy bedspread & blanket off the bed and thoroughly inspected them before even considering getting in. At 12pm at night and my husband dead tired I didn't have the heart to insist on looking for somewhere else. Needless to say we will never turn into an Ibis budget again as they obviously save on cost by not employing a proper cleaning staff. We couldn't get out of there early enough the following day... I'm just glad we didn't come home with any nits!

Room Tip: Don't!!!! If you know what's good for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed one night prior to catching a flight from Melbourne with an 8am check-in. It's an easy 12k drive on motorways to the airport. The hotel doesn't provide much in the way of facilities (no wi-fi), but for what we paid we received great value. The room, while spartan, was clean and the bed comfortable.
Downside is there's nowhere nearby to eat except McDonalds and KFC. We drove several kilometres towards the city on Sydney Road and found Nila, an an excellent Indian restaurant at Coburg.
Downside was that the hotel is at the intersection of the Western Ring Road and Sydney Road, there's lots of traffic, and the night we stayed the ramp leading from Sydney Rd to WRR (so right by the hotel) was closed for road works which caused a lot of noise. Only by having the noisy air conditioning on could we drown it out. That wasn't the hotel's fault but if we'd know we'd have asked for a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great friendly service. The gentleman who checked us in also carried my suitcase up the stairs, even though I could have managed by myself.
The location was a little difficult to find, but that was because our version of Tom Tom did not recognise the street number.
Trish W.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoona, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My Mum and I stayed here as a cheaper airport alternative when we had an early morning flight to catch. Same set-up as airport Formule1 (Ibis Budget), but a lot cheaper. It took as less than 15mins to get to the airport carpark. The area is not pretty, but the room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and security good. Breakfast at $7 (cereal, toast and atrocious coffee!) was handy, and again cheaper than anything at the airport. Staff were friendly and polite. Definately ok for a one-nighter before a flight...

Room Tip: We had downstairs room facing the back, and it was quiet enough. We requested these rooms at check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner

Address: 1401 Hume Hwy. | Sydney Road, Fawkner, Moreland, Victoria 3060, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Fawkner
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Fawkner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Melbourne Fawkner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.