We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super-helpful management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Mahia Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Te Mahia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Save
You added Te Mahia Bay Resort to your Saves list
Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“super-helpful management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

The units were very spacious and very well equipped, but the outstanding attraction is the staff, who could not have been more helpful. They not only brought delicious food to our room, but supplied excellent wine from their private cellar at cheap prices. They also arranged for a massage by a skilled massage therapist, which was wonderful to experience after a long day walking along the Queen Charlotte Track.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Previously we had stayed in 5 different superbly equiped family apartments at the same price. Te Mahia provided no second bedroom just 2 single beds in living area with very dated bathroom and kitchen. The apartment was like an igloo when we arrived with only a small radiator in the bedroom and an old fashioned 2 bar electric fire in the living room for heating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

loved the spacious and well appointed appartment with all that little extras. wonderfull views from the balcony. Peacefull. Compliment to the owners and staff.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the new apartments which were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location is stunning, quiet, but with plenty to do in the area. A walk along the Queen Charlotte track with a water taxi back from Portage was a highlight. It is in a remote location, so either bring your own provisions, or use the small selection of meals on offer from their shop... or enjoy the mussels from the local farm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lloydri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Te Mahia resort. An incredibly beautiful location, great hosts and lovely (good value) accomodation. Lots to do as well - including kayaking in the bay and walking some of the Queen Charlotte Track. Loved the place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We hiked the length of the Queen Charlotte track and I am glad we spent our final night at the Te Mahia lodge. This was the best place we stayed, and the other places were good. The rooms we had were large, exquisitely appointed with fantastic views. The staff were more than helpful

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, North Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I returned to Te Mahia, wondering if my second visit would live up to the wonderful memories of the first visit. I worried that such a long time away might've caused me to remember everything positive and therefore lead to possible disappointment but I shouldn't have worried. In fact, I was even more impressed on the second visit because Jann (Hook - Manageress) recognised me immediately I walked into the office. Jann and her husband Trevor have a wonderful rapport with people - making them feel totally relaxed and 'at home' at 'their special place' as they put it. The surroundings are even more stunning now, as the gardens have further matured and colour abounds. Whether you are looking for ambience or hosts with the 'special' touch, you will not be disappointed at Te Mahia - the epitome of NZ's clean, green image. I feel blessed to have found such a gem, to which I will continue to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Mahia Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Mahia Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.