We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical Week End in Te Mahia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Mahia Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Te Mahia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Save
You added Te Mahia Bay Resort to your Saves list
Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A magical Week End in Te Mahia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I can only describe this place as wonderland. We have just had the most amazing week end At Te Mahia for 40 plus people for Nigel's 70th. It is situated on the waterfront and all apartments face that way. The water laps the steps at high tide and you go to sleep with the gentle noise of the waves. All the apartments are very well serviced and many of them have three bedrooms with extra beds so can easily accommodate several families...they also all have balconies overlooking Kenneperu Sound. There are two fabulous luxury apartments which also have balcony s looking out to the Sound and fully equipped. But all the apartments are great and you only have to turn around and get the magical view over the Sound. The kayaking is fantastic..the shop has the most amazing coffee...and Jann makes fabulous Pizzas to order. There are also gourmet dinner selections from her freezer. Mine Hosts..Trevor and Jann are naturals at running this place and I actually thought I was at their party! We had a marquee on the water front lawn and Jann decorated it beautifully with two fabulous urns of flowers and all the extra bits..we have had a letter from one of our guests that said they felt that they had landed in wonderland for the w/e. the walks around are magical..waterfall bay ..and queen Charlotte track are on your doorstep. It has to be an absolute must stop for anyone visiting that area of The Sounds. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Heritage Block is great for families..if you want a twosome..go for the waterfront apartments ..or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
It was truly a wonderful pleasure to host you all for such a magical celebration. Here at Te Mahia it is all the little things that are important to us, fresh flowers in the rooms, rosemary sprigs on your towels and the attention to detail, and of course our great New Zealand hospitality that is part of our Te Mahia ethos. We are thrilled to be able to live and work in such a unique environment and to be able to share this experience with all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Te Mahia Bay is absolutely beautiful and the gardens enhance this. It is very tranquil with some very pleasant outdoor terraces to sit in to admire the view. A jetty nearby is useful for water taxis.The host, Trevor, is a former DOC officer and is very knowledgeable about birdlife etc. and very helpful.
Two of the units are very up to date and excellent but the rest are a mixed bag. We stayed in a very 70s unit with poor lighting and the shower was not very good and lino on the floor. Poor quality floor coverings and curtains. Other friends were in one which was really 1950s but with 2013 prices!! The outside of the units are all well-painted and enhanced by the lovely gardens. The shop is very disappointing & poorly stocked and lots of pretty dreadful souvenirs and custom jewellery. However, the coffee for sale is absolutely spot on...excellent and it is roasted locally in Renwick. With fewer nicknacks for sale and better quality foodstuffs this would be much better!!!
Many of the units are obviously being updated so it would pay to make inquiries when booking. It is a real paradise on a lovely day though!!

Room Tip: Seabreeze with modern facilities are the best and the rest need to be checked out carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are glad you appreciated the stunning environment that is Te Mahia Bay Resort. The Waterfront Motel units you stayed in were built in 1997 and have been refurbished in 2008, with new shower units installed just this last year.
Our heritage motel units have also been refurbished over the last 4 years and enhance the ambiance and peaceful nature of Te Mahia.
It is with pride that each year we select stock for our gift shop that hopefully reflects the eclectic nature of our sounds environment where the bush meets the sea. A lot of the product that we stock is superbly crafted by New Zealand jewelers and crafts people and proves to be a unique selling point to attract our many visitors both national and International.
It is true that our coffee by Ritual roasted locally at Linkwater is the best in the sounds, and this is enhanced by our selection of cakes, slices and gourmet quiches. We do also offer Stone Grilled pizzas and an array of Frozen Gourmet meals to tempt the taste buds up to 7.00pm each night. Our shop also carries a selection of grocery lines if clients wish to prepare their own meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

we stayed as a family 2 nights received a room on the water!!!
the view is most amazing possible
we did not move from the sea front for 2 days
the views are fantastic , you cannot imagin ,
the room is spacious , has front look to the sea,
when you are in bed the view is- sea&sounds
the noise is - waves!! we loved it
i wish we could stay there more
wendy ans trevor are great couple

the hotel is few minutes from the qc track

Room Tip: try to relax here a long as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at Te Mahia Bay Resort to celebrate our 25th wedding aniversary. We could not have picked a more perfect place to do so. Fantastic walks right at your doorstep, beautiful bay, quiet place, wildlife, the list goes on!!! We are already planning a return trip.
Would recommend a stay here without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a few amazing days at Te mahia. Taking a peek through the window at first thing in the morning was absolutelly breathtaking...The intense turquoise colour of the water, the many shades of green, the harmony with men's input....it is just the perfect place for a holiday.
My daughters of 15 and 8 were amazed!! We enjoyed walking up to the hilltop lookout (with its 360 degrees view), kayaking, collecting shells and stones with our youngest, photographing!! and listening to the birds and there is so much more to suit everyone's like.
Trevor and Jann thank you for your hospitality, you made us feel special!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The resort is built right on the waters edge in this visually beautiful bay. A quirky place with beautiful gardens and eclectic garden art suggests this place has been nurtured by its owners. After 20 or so years, they were welcoming, generous and eager to please. We loved our older style unit 5 mts from the waters edge which was spotless and comfortable. The units inside were full of interesting bits and pieces, much like the garden art and we deemed this the nicest place on the Queen Charlotte walk with Furneaux Lodge close behind. Trevor delivered us his home made pizza to our door in the pouring rain, you gotta love that!

Don't believe you could be disappointed with this beautiful resort.

Room Tip: There is a wide variation of rooms, get a description of the style of unit and its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous! We stayed here when walking the QCT and the accommodation is fabulous, fantastic view of the Sound, very spacious room, comfy bed and Trevor's Pizzas were delicious! Thoroughly recommend this place! We will be back to finish the Track as weather sabotaged our last day's walk!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Mahia Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Mahia Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.