We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Mahia Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Te Mahia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Save
You added Te Mahia Bay Resort to your Saves list
Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We felt incredibly fortunate to find this piece of paradise. On arrival we were made to feel really welcome. The units are spacious, comfortable, well designed and have fabulous views. The gardens are beautiful with pleasant places to sit and read. It's a great location for day walks along the Queen Charlotte Sound track. The winter rates are incredibly good value.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived as a group of 6, we were instantly made to feel at home, we borrowed kayaks and hand reels for $5 per hour and were informed on the best places to fish- we didn't catch dinner but the amazing outlook, peaceful surroundings, glow worms and well stocked shop with reasonably priced wine kept us in awe of this amazing resort. We will be back! Thank you for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for one night at the end of March while hiking the Queen Charlotte Track. The Te Mahia is located one kilometer off the QCT, descending on a wide gravel road (hikers - watch our for speeding vehicles) down to the water. We stayed in a modern motel unit, which we both found very spacious with one queen and two twins, two sofas, and a dining table with four chairs. Plenty of space to move around and would be perfect for a family of four. The kitchen area includes hobs and the full range of kitchenware so it's perfect for self-catering for longer stays. The bathroom has a shower (no tub) and amenities include shower gel, conditioning shampoo, and even a hot water bottle! Towels were fluffy and plentiful. There was a stack of magazines and a small bookcase with books in addition to the flat screen TV to entertain you in the room.

The only problem I had with the room is that there was an odd persistent odor that really bothered me such that I spent all afternoon outside the room because I couldn't tolerate the smell, which was on the side of the room with the kitchen. I think the kitchen floors and/or countertops were not thoroughly rinsed with fresh water and proper detergent This is not to say that the unit itself wasn't clean, because I certainly thought it was, but the odor was a bit bothersome. (I did get used to it by night-time anyway.)

There are seating areas dispersed throughout the property for lounging, reading, eating, outside. Te Mahia is on the water taxi route as I saw someone being dropped off. Te Mahia is actually accessible by road so I saw a lot of other guests with their bicycles or boats strapped to SUVs.

The combined little reception/coffee shop/gift store is open 8 AM - 7 PM. There is a wide selection of fairly reasonably priced wines (and beers and other drinks) available, as well as ice cream bars, and what appear to be beautiful home-baked little cakes. You can order a pizza (place order before 6 PM), there are four varieties (meat lovers, seafood, chicken and cranberry, and vegetarian) and each one is the size of a very large dinner plate. We two girls, after a long day of hiking, ordered two and realized quickly that we really only needed one. Try the seafood pizza, probably the best I've ever had with really tender scallops and mussels on it. From the store, you can also buy eggs, frozen meats, pastas, cereals, etc. to prepare your own meals. If you're going to stay here a few days, bring some provisions, but for one or two nights, you can survive nicely on what you can get from the coffee shop. I bought a chicken and brie quiche to take with me on my hike, and it was just lovely, very flavorful and yummy.

I really like the Te Mahia and would stay here again (especially because the only other option if you are hiking the QCT is the Lochmara Lodge, which requires you to hike an hour on a spur trail to get there). And although I never met Jann, I found Trevor to be quite nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was an amazing find. It wasn't listed in all guides but fortunately for us, was included in our guidebook. The hotel is a little off the beaten track, so not for people who want a bit of night life, but perfect for those who enjoy peace and quiet. it is located right on the waters edge on its own little bay on Kenepuru sound. The rooms are in two groups, there is a block of recently modernised really up to date, really nice rooms with good kitchens and bathrooms, or a block of older rooms which are perfectly ok but beginning to show their age. We actually had the choice of either and we chose the older room because the older rooms have the best views and a great balcony to enjoy them from. This was probably the best view of our whole month long trip - just perfect. The older rooms have the additional advantage of being rather cheaper and consequently excellent value. This is not to say there is anything wrong with the modern rooms. The modern rooms still have excellent views and if you like a little luxury you would probably prefer these - its nice to have the choice. The owners were really nice, friendly and helpful. They booked some trips for us and generally gave the impression that nothing was too much bother. Because the hotel is on its own you have to travel up the road to find a place to eat, but the hotel does their own range of microwave meals, which turned out to be really nice. so we never left the hotel. Faced with the option of eating a nice ready meal on your own balcony overlooking a 5 star view, with a nice bottle of wine (either available from the hotel shop or buy for less at the supermarket on your way) why would you!
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, we would stay again anytime, our only regret was that if we wanted to see anything else of the island we would have to keep to our schedule. None the less we stayed an extra day (3 in total).

Room Tip: If you go for the older rooms have an upstairs room, the view is slightly better,but both upstairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for wedding with group of friends. Same very friendly owners as were here 15 years ago.Same old David Brown tractor with 3 gear levers to haul your boat or jetski in and out.
Rooms and service were very good . You can stay in older part or if you wish the newer motel units which are excellent quality ,all with magnificent views across water.
Great coffee in cafe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The purpose of our visit was to attend a wedding at Te Mahia. This was our first trip to the Kenepuru Sounds and we were most impressed with the resort. The views from our balcony on the 2nd floor was absolutely amazing as we enjoyed coffee and watched the fish swimming in the bay below us. We were in the older part of the resort but the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff were most helpful and courteous. Nothing was a problem for them. There is no restaurant on site so you need to self cater, although the resort does have a small shop where basic commodities can be purchased. Would go back again without hesitation. .

Room Tip: Try and get a booking in the newer block as they are more modern than the original block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A spot of luxury in the beautiful setting of Kenupuru Sound. This fabulous resort, comfortable, spotlessly clean, right on the beach, fabulous views, the most helpful hosts and staff. I could go on, but it's perfect, come and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Appartments face the wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Mahia Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Mahia Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.