We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bight Cafe

Bight Cafe
Queen Charlotte Sound | Bay of Many Coves Resort, Arthurs Bay 7372, New Zealand
(03) 579 9771
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Neither is the fine food and excellent service. Here at the Bight Cafe, the atmosphere is easy going, relaxed, pure and natural. Situated right on the jetty, the Bight Cafe has an exceptional range of local cuisine, fine wines and superb coffee. It's also a favourite destination for passing boaties looking for a caffeine fix.
picton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Bay of Many Coves cafe (Bighty) is an excellent place to kayak to. We probably weren't looking very tidy after a few days of kayaking and camping, but we were made as welcome as the properly dressed folks arriving by yacht / water taxi.
The waitress helped us land the kayaks onto a pretty convenient ramp and she helped us back onto the water after lunch. It was the easiest kayak launch I've ever done!
The service in the cafe was excellent. We were thirsty and our waitress made sure we never ran out of water. The order was taken promptly and the food arrived quickly, but we weren't hassled when we wanted to linger over the fabulous coffee, read the weekend paper and enjoy the lovely surroundings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Embarrassingly Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We decided to head out to Bay of Many Coves Resort for a quick lunch with overseas family. We are locals and have dined here regularly for many years. Previously you would arrive in your boat and someone would always come down to the jetty to help tie up or ask if you required assistance. This nice touch seems to have vanished. In the Bight cafe we were welcomed by friendly staff and had no problem in getting a table. We ordered food and drinks and waited….. The wine came out, the beers did not. After more considerable waiting time the food started to arrive. One kids's meal was completely wrong and was politely returned. An adults meal was also completely wrong - different fish to what was told and minuscule portion. Politeness was waning! Now no cutlery to eat with. We asked once - nothing. We asked again and it was hastily put together. The kids meal now came back "fixed". Basically the burger had the contents scraped off it and it was returned with a "I hope he doesn't mind the sauce" which it was covered with. Sadly he did mind so the fish got a good feed. All the meals we ordered were basic and ordinary. Not what you would expect from the cafe of an "exclusive" resort.
The restaurant was not busy, there were 3 waitresses waiting 3 or 4 tables of customers.
Our guests complained and we were offered a full refund for our meals and drinks. Whilst this was a very generous gesture we felt uncomfortable with this. It was not our aim in complaining. Not only did we leave feeling incredibly disappointed with the food and service, we also felt guilty at complaining!!
Will we come back over the summer? Hard to say we would take the chance. They will need to do some serious work if experiences like ours are not repeated when they become inundated over the holiday period.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch on the sounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Did the cougar line sounds tour with lunch at the bay of many coves resort, lunch was stunning, the location and the food were both top notch, wine list was extensive and service was genuinely enjoyable. Feeding the fish off the peer was a pretty cool bonus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't leave soon enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were there as day trippers on a package that included the meal in the Bight Cafe and a boat ride from Picton to this beautiful bay. The waitress welcomed us and we ordered some nice premium-priced wines with our meal. The food was very nice but the service was indifferent at best. In the eyes of the man in charge of the cafe there were definitely two categories of diners: resort guests, and day trippers. Our dessert was literally dumped in front of us and he was turning away as he did so. In response to a question about the food he shrugged his shoulders and replied "I guess so".

We have been to Lochmara Bay Lodge before as day trippers and have always been treated as though our custom was important. Bay of Many Coves comes a very poor second for service and we won't be back - which I presume will please the manager.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Marlborough, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Only went to cafe for lunch, meal was nice but not anything special, service was slow took at least three quarters of an hour for our food to arrive. Wine prices was way over priced even for somewhere that has such a spectacular view, that was the second time I have been there but that was over 12 months ago and sorry I won't be going again.They only positive thing I have to say is that they are lucky to be in such a special and beautiful setting

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bight Cafe also viewed

Arthurs Bay, Marlborough Region

Been to Bight Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bight Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.