We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place in all New Zealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bay of Many Coves to your Saves list
Bay of Many Coves
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Tübingen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place in all New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon trip through New Zealand. First thing I have to say: 2 nights is not enough!
Arriving by water taxi is a perfect way to see the sounds and getting a first impression of the resort from the sea. We were welcomed by our hosts Pip and Nic who did everything to make us feel relaxed and at ease. They showed us to our bungalow, which is a self-contained spacious 2-room apartment. It has a balcony with magnificent views of the bay. You can easily do bird-watching from the balcony as there is plenty of birdlife around, small sets of looking-glasses are provided.
We did some walking on the queen charlotte track, the water taxi transfers to the starting and finish point were conveniently arranged by Pip.
We had dinner and breakfast both days in the restaurant which was not included in the price. Prices for the meals were reasonable though. Especially as the food is extraordinary. Dinner was delicious and the choice of New Zealand wines was excellent. I did like the breakfast even better, as my favourite dish - pancakes - was a real treat with a huge pile of cakes along with maple syrup, caramel sauce, honey, vanilla ice, fruits etc.
Overall this was a wonderful experience, staff was friendly and very helpful, the setting is just stunning. A perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
124
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in December as part of a visit back to NZ to see his family, for some "couple time". We had walked the Queen Charlotte track previously so knew the area was beautiful, but the resort was in a particularly pretty location in a secluded bay. We liked the lay out with only a small number of rooms, and these being well spaced out, with fantastic water views. The apartments were well set out with balconies, day beds, very comfortable bedrooms and fresh fruit left each day. Ideal if you are happy in your own company, reading and napping as we were.

We had room service one night, then ate in the restaurant for the second night, which is the same menu so it may become limited for longer stays. We had lunch in the cafe which was lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic with great coffee. You could certainly plan to self cater as the kitchens are very functional but apart from a few nibbles and wine we didn't bother. The activities that we tried were the walk to the lookout (a tough 45 minutes uphill, then 20 minutes down) and the waterfall (an easy 10 minutes) and kayaking which was great. The pool was cold, but it is NZ, and the hot tub very pleasant. I had a massage (hot stone) which was very pleasant and I would recommend booking in.

The staff were very friendly and relaxed, Cameron and Pip were always on hand to answer queries. During our stay the majority of guests were American, and there were children at the resort, which we didn't expect but were well behaved so not an issue for us.

The eco policy of not replacing linens was fine with us, but the towels in the bathroom were not hung up, and the toiletries not replaced, when the room was serviced. This was really the only negative that I can report from our stay, and we were not bothered enough to report this but it may irritate others more.

Overall, a wonderfully relaxing break, great for couples more than singles or families in our opinion. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

This was a beautiful place to stay for a luxurious break with my husband and our two kids, (8 & 12) over christmas. On arriving there, I initially thought, 'Oh God, I'm going to want to live here!'. However, despite its fantastic-ness, 3 days and 3 nights really were enough. By then, I was maxed out on the peace, the 5 star food, and 5 star service, and was kinda ready to return to normal life.

The location is extremely beautiful, with incredible views from all the apartments. The apartments are also very tastefully decorated, and well equipped. I'd recommend considering taking enough of your own food to make at least one simple meal, as it was nice the one night just to stay in the apartment and kick back with some pasta and TV.

You'll enjoy your stay here, without question. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Bay of Many Coves was the nicest places we stayed in NZ. I see some reviews say its expensive, but we stayed in much more pricey places that didnt come near. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The views are just beautiful. The food is also worth commenting on. We eat out a lot in good restaurants and we thought the meals here were of a very high standard and very reasonable, which really made the stay perfect. I would highly recommend a few days here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We were two couple traveling together and we spent two days in a two bedroom suite. It was like a little bit of paradise. The staff was unfailingly helpful and attentive. We not only enjoyed their service, but also meeting and speaking with them. Lovely surroundings, good hiking and very relaxing. The food was good too, and compared to other meals we had in NZ, quite reasonable as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

If you can afford it, this is a fantastic location to enjoy a great part of NZ. While expensive, if this resort was loacted in most other countries the cost would be significantly higher.

I would suggest 2-3 nights here would suffice - not sure what you would do if you stayed longer.

As a coffee addict, having a great cafe in such a remotre area was a real bonus.

I was puzzled to read the review from someone (who didn't stay at the resort) who claimed management to be 'arrogant'. We found the exact opposite.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Bay of Many Coves is in an amazing location on the Marlborough Sounds on the very northern tip of the South Island of New Zealand. The restaurant and chef cook amazing food every night, and all of the rooms are one-bedroom suites with beautiful views of the water.

This is an amazing place to relax for 3-4 days, as you must keep in mind that the only way to get to the resort is via water taxi, which isn't cost effective if you are going back to the main island every day. There is great access to the Queen Charlotte track from the resort, and they are in a great spot for fishing trips, kayaking, and other ways you might choose to enjoy the water. Don't necessarily stay here if you are planning to tour the Marlborough Wine Region, although a one day trip can be coordinated, and it would work out just fine, you just have to invest extra travel time.

The staff were amazing, and went out of their way to help us coordinate every aspect of our trip well in advance of our arrival. There is one nice restaurant and one more casual lunch spot on the property. Both locations have day visitors who arrive via boat when they are touring the Marlborough Sounds, which definitely gives this spot the feeling of a true vacation.

Bottom line: I would recommend Bay of Many Coves to anyone looking for a place to stay on the North End of the South Island, and it's worth planning a trip around, if you are looking for a place to visit before you make the jump to the North Island.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Many Coves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.