We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff and fabulous food - but not much to do if it rains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bay of Many Coves to your Saves list
Bay of Many Coves
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Lower Doaghs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff and fabulous food - but not much to do if it rains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

A great place in the sunshine and staffed with lovely people who want you to have a good time

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Whhen it rained there were few options
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
124
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

This is a truly special place. One you won't forget. The views and scenary are amazing. The accomodation is comfortable and luxurious. We had a balcony, music and a great bathroom. The bed and towels and sofas were all really soft and cosy. The restaurant was great too and the service was fab. The food was scrummy and we were sad not to be able to eat there for the rest of our trip. We caught a ferry to the start of the Queen Charlotte Track which was a gorgeous walking location.

  • Liked — Location and standard of accomodation
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We spent three nights at the Bay of Many Coves in August 2007.

We were met at the dock by the resort manager (Lisa), promptly checked in and taken up to our one bedroom apartment, which incidentally was the same unit we had in 2005 (#103). Our luggage was delivered shortly thereafter via golf cart.

I’m not sure I know enough superlatives to adequately describe our experience, but I’ll give it a go.

Our unit was as we remembered - king sized bed with mink blanket, plush bathrobes, spacious bathroom with plenty of quality towels, generous amenities, comfortable lounge area with small LCD TV, music system, well equipped kitchen complete with mini fridge, stove and dishwasher. It was bright and airy with louvered windows and had a fantastic deck with an unobstructed view of the sounds.

The room was great, but the ambiance and service, well, that’s what made this visit really special.

When we booked our stay, we were asked if we had any dietary requirements. My spouse will eat most anything, but I’m more of a challenge and I try to avoid set menus. When we arrived I asked to see the menu before we booked dinner, and was discouraged that there wasn’t anything I would eat, save one item on the starter menu.

When we went to the office to book a water taxi for the following day, Lisa informed me that the chef was prepared to make a special chicken dish for me, or I could have the starter as a main. This was a pleasant surprise, particularly since I hadn’t mentioned my preferences since our booking four months ago. This was just the start of some wonderfully attentive service.

When we entered the tranquil, softly lit restaurant that evening we discovered that we were two of only six guests. A fire was burning; mellow music was playing and the ladies were all offered an incredibly soft, warm shawl to wear during dinner. A very nice touch!

Dinner the first night was chargrilled sirloin and gratin Dauphinois with mustard cognac butter for the carnivore (he said it was excellent). I took a leap of faith and ordered the chef’s special mentioned above, which turned out to be smoked chicken breast and roasted vegetables over a puff pastry with some sort of sauce. It was delicious and just what I had in mind.

We dined in the restaurant every night of our stay and had a wonderful meal each time.

As a surprise for my husband who was celebrating his 50th birthday, I’d arranged for the resort to make a small birthday cake. Chris, the chef on duty, made a lovely chocolate raspberry cake with a birthday greeting written in chocolate on the plate. It was a perfect end to a perfect stay at Bay of Many Coves.

Lisa and Jian were incredibly helpful and accommodating. They booked our water taxis, suggested walks and in one instance got permission from a land owner for us to cross his property. Jian lent us his cell phone one day so we could call him to arrange a dinghy pick-up when we finished a particular walk.

Chris and Jie took very good care of us in the restaurant. We were too busy walking the Queen Charlotte Track to visit the cafe, but I have no doubt we would have been well cared for there as well.

Bay of Many Coves was the highlight of our three week stay on the South Island and we'd go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Liked — Beautiful location, attentive service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Accessible by water taxi, resort is clusters of units nestled into a hillside, so sidewalks are hilly (golf carts transport available if necessary). We stayed in an amazing 3 BR unit, with living room, kitchen, and nice balcony. Great location for lounging and outdoor activities; if you're not into that, you can take a water taxi into Picton for the day.

Dining room food was excellent but pricey. Breakfast and Lunch in the more casual venue downstairs were outstanding.

Marina on premise with water activity rental, plus dock to accept water taxi service and various siteseeing trips.

  • Liked — Remoteness, scenery, roominess
  • Disliked — Remoteness
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

If you are looking for somewhere to unwind, this place is wonderful. We stayed here two nights at the end of our NZ stay. After all the running around, this was a great place to relax. There is not much to do, but that's the whole point. The one bedroom suite we had was very nicely decorated and very spacious. The food was very good, but expensive. The weather was not the best, so we couldn't do much activity outside (like kayaking which we really wanted to do) and the pool was being treated or repaired so it was out of service. Overall this is a pretty great place to stay for a few days.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

This resort is about 3 years old. The only way to get there is by water taxi or walk in, which would take about 2 days!
The hotel has a great location in a little cove. There is no beach but you can swim of the jetty to a pontoon. The room we stayed in was large and spacious with a balcony over looking the water. In fact all rooms overlook the water. Our room come fully equipped with fridge, dishwasher, hob, microwave etc and the best thing of all a washing machine and tumble dryer!
You could live in this room and cook your own food if desired!
The hotel has a cafe, for informal eating and a restaurant which we thought was very good. It also has an impressive wine list!
The staff are super helpful and arranged transport to and from the hotel with the Cougar Line who run the water taxis. this is great as it takes the hassle out of arranging it yourself. they are also helpful with ideas on what to do. They arranged a water taxi to take us to Ships Cove, the beginning of the Queen Charlotte Walk and pick us up later on at the end of the first days walk back to the hotel.
The name water taxi is probably slightly misleading. These are large boats and water bus would be a better name as they run at set times and can take loads of people. they are not exclusive by any means although you can get a private one if needed.
The hotels gardens are planted with native plants and we saw Wekas and Kererus (NZ pigeons) around the place.
There are a couple of short walks around the hotel, one to a small waterfall and a night time one to see the glow worms. The hotel is about 2 hours off the Queen Charlotte Walk and it is possible to hike up to the trail but in my opinion you are better off walking the first day and if you want go back and walk the second day as well.
The hotel has a small shop selling basic food and ice-cream but not enough if you are planning on cooking your own meal.
The hotel also has kayaks you can borrow if you fancy a paddle around the bay.
All in all a great place in a great location with very helpful staff.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

Our visit to the Bay of Many Coves resort was wonderful. Lisa, the manager, is extremely friendly and helpful. She guided our experience from beginning to end. The only downside of this resort is the service--and I say that with a caveat. The hotel is so isolated, they have kids on college holiday working fulltime as waiters, maids, desk clerks, bellboys -- and living there. This means, the service is a little bit amateur for such an upscale resort. For the cost, one might expect a few more amenities like bottled water but as a whole, this is a 5 star resort and it is well-maintained. BY the way, if you have an opportunity, take the R&R cruise with Gordon on his boat the Lady Karen. You can charter it for a half day---it's a terrific way to see the sounds and you could not find a more accomodating, lovely guide.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Many Coves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.