We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
111 Soldier Colony Rd, Canton, MS 39046-9783
601-667-3721
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Canton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Back at very good La Quinta after eating at El Sombrero or should I say not eating. We did like the chips, very light but the salsa was so bland. No spice at all, they could have opened a can of Rotel and it would have been better. Entrees with beef very suspect, chicken better but not by much. I would not recommend at all. Order dominos or skip dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mixed review!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Our group ate here on a Friday night - some of the food was good, but my chicken taco salad and another persons enchiladas were not so good (no taste). The service was friendly and good. Chips and salsa were plentiful - I think I would have enjoyed it if I had ordered something else.
When we left they were getting ready for karaoke - lots of people coming in. So if that's your thing this may be the place for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a great place to eat while in Canton. Very clean and wonderful Mexican food..So if Mexican is on the list this is the place to go.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Mississippi
2 reviews
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice. The food and service were great also. Will definitely return on my next trip there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food, friendly wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We often eat at Mexican restaurants when traveling, as there are good vegetarian options. This was just a short walk from our motel in Canton, and came recommended by the Best Western desk clerk. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and abundant (I can't believe we ate it all!), and the wait staff were very friendly. There were two birthdays that evening, and the staff brought out a VERY LARGE sombrero for the birthday person to wear, then sang "Happy Birthday" to them and gave them a free dessert. It was very festive, and an excellent recommendation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.