We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
111 Soldier Colony Rd, Canton, MS 39046-9783
601-667-3721
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Canton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Charleston, Mississippi
2 reviews
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice. The food and service were great also. Will definitely return on my next trip there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FAIRFIELD
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food, friendly wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We often eat at Mexican restaurants when traveling, as there are good vegetarian options. This was just a short walk from our motel in Canton, and came recommended by the Best Western desk clerk. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and abundant (I can't believe we ate it all!), and the wait staff were very friendly. There were two birthdays that evening, and the staff brought out a VERY LARGE sombrero for the birthday person to wear, then sang "Happy Birthday" to them and gave them a free dessert. It was very festive, and an excellent recommendation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at the Hampton Inn, which is super close to El Sombrero. We ordered our food to go because we had traveled all day and just wanted to chill out. The food was ready in 10 minutes. And, much to our surprise, it was excellent. Would definately recommend this restaurant. FYI, we are Texans and eat great Mexican food all the time. Just sayin'.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We chose this restaurant since it was close to hotel we were staying in, and had good reviews on Tripadvisor. It was just OK. The fajitas were good, plenty of food, however they only gave us two tortillas. They serve it with guacamole and rice, both of these were pretty terrible. Salsa was watery and had no real flavor. Kid's meal dissappointing too. The service was less than average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth taking a chance on...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Anytime you try a non-franchised restaurant you're taking a chance. This place is worth the chance. It's a typical 'outside of Texas TexMex restaurant. The food was average. We had guacamole, beef fajitas, and chili rellenos. The salsa was... average. The margarita was good and the beer was cold. Considering the lack of good restaurants around Canton El Sombrero is DEFINITELY worth trying. The service was friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.