We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky Non-Smoking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   152 Soldiers Colony Rd, Canton, MS 39046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Canton
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Smoky Non-Smoking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a hard time finding hotel availabilities on a recent Friday night and were pleased to find this location had one room left. We were given a room on the third (top) floor and told it was non-smoking. The moment the elevator door opened, we were overwhelmed with the stench of smoke. It continued into our room. I tried calling the desk clerk on the phone, but it did not work. I went down and asked again about the status of the room and was assured it was non-smoking (there were no signs on the rooms to designate non-smoking). He tried calling our room and got an answer, but we never could call him (this is a safety issue).
However, the room was very nicely furnished and included a wall mounted flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave. It was very clean other than the smell. My husband purchased some air freshener.
The breakfast area, though, was not well maintained. I wiped off a table for us. My husband went and found the desk clerk, who was reading a magazine, and told her that the food assortment was running low (well before ending time). She then came over and replenished the food.
The rate was expensive for the area. I cannot recommend this hotel. Please see my other reviews; I am generally very complimentary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqinnandsuitescanton, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• The front desk staff person received additional training in the proper way to be dressed and conducting himself during working hours.

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which he is to treat you, our valued guests.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

• Management were notified of the problem you experienced and your being charged for the room. The situation is being looked into.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
36
18
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stopped at the La Quinta in the middle of the night and too tired to continue driving. I was expecting an average stay, but this hotel really shined. Appearing to be nearly brand new, everything was immaculate. The room was nicely appointed, nice bathroom, plenty of towels provided. We were dead tired and the super comfortable bed and nice sheets were very appreciated. The only negative I have during our short stay was the noise factor. Thin walls, and I could hear the room above us stomping around at 5am. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stopped on our way to Florida. We were walk-in customers and not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. I found it a little rude that the front desk staff were constantly on their cell phones, but they did acknowledge me quickly when I approached. Breakfast was so-so (avoid the eggs) but better than expected for a free breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean, beds very comfortable, and overall happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqinnandsuitescanton, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton for your recent stay in our area. I am so pleased that you were happy with your stay.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Front desk staff received our commendation for the courteous manner in which they treated you, our valued guests.

• Breakfast staff received our commendation for their presentation.

• Housekeeping received our commendation for the level of cleanliness they meet as our employees.

• Housekeeping received my personal commendation for their presentation.

I hope that the next time you are in our area, you will once again choose to stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Easy to acces from I-55, this La Quinta has a spotlessly clean lobby and a very friendly check-in clerk. It all went pretty well till I entered the room. WOW! It was VERY nice! High ceilings, excellent furnishings, everything spotlessly clean, Comfortable beds. Free Wi-fi and breakfast. Microwave & fridge are included, outlet plugs are where you need them. I thought the rates were reasonably low. If you are staying in Canton, Mississippi, you will love this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

From the time we entered the facility It was obvious that it is not well maintained, and trying to cut costs at the expense of customers. Our first clue was the landscaping, and the next was entry into a lobby designed for climate control, but the doors were wide open, and never closed during our stay.

We stay at La Quinta Inns because we travel with our small dog, and the quality of their facilities are almost always great. I would suspect this is not a corporate owned facility, and from our experience they will either shape up, or lose their franchise.

We make an annual visit to the coast, and have usually stayed at the well maintained much older La Quinta Inn in Jackson, MS. This facility is only something like 3 to 4 years old, but it is not very well maintained. The decorative pillows on the bed had stains, and for a fairly new hotel it was obvious they are going the wrong direction to get returned customers. We will pass this place up in the future, and again stay at the La Quinta in Jackson. The Jackson facility must be more than 30 years old, but it is well maintained, clean, and renovated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqinnandsuitescanton, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Outside maintenance received additional training in proper landscaping.

• Management received additional instruction in properly maintaining climate control in the lobby.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management was talked to about what they could do to better attract and serve our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climax Springs, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Were do I start. We pulled up to a fairly new nice looking hotel to see very tall weeds though out the lawn and lots of dead bushes. Not to appealing to begin with. The front doors were open and no air conditioner on in the lobby and I believe the lights were not all on either. Our ADA room was clean. The bed was a little lumpy which surprised me for such a new hotel. The pillows were also really CHEAP. I'm glad we travel with ours. The towels were not the usual La Quinta towels. They were also cheap and did not match. The shampoo in the bathroom left for use to used was half used! Not a good nights sleep the thermostat to regulate the heat in the room was not working properly.
When we came down for breakfast at 8:30am I notice that when we came into the breakfast room the lights were turned on as we entered the room. The only other person in the room was an employee eating before going to work. The gravy in the crock pot was very empty and no attempt to refill or check on it the entire time were in there eating. There was no yogurt either.
The owners or managers did say hello but not friendly at all. The whole experience was just WEIRD! Will take this La Quinta off our list of places to stay when traveling to the coast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lqinnandsuitescanton, Webmaster at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Grounds maintenance received additional training in properly maintaining their presentation.

• The owners and managers received additional training in making our valued guests feel welcome and wanted.

• Housekeeping received additional training in properly supplying the room before having it released for new occupants.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in putting on a proper presentation.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton

Address: 152 Soldiers Colony Rd, Canton, MS 39046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn and Suites Canton offers 55 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. La Quinta Inn and Suites Canton features an outdoor pool and a fitness facility. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary. Business-related amenities consist of a business center and small meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast. This Canton hotel also offers laundry facilities, self parking, and air conditioning in public areas. Complimentary parking is available on site. Flat screen 32 in TV with cable and HBO. Free newspaper every day. Late check out and early check in. 24 hr free coffee in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.