We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, some unpleasant surprises though” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Keesler AFB

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Keesler AFB to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Keesler AFB
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 44 hotels in Biloxi
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, some unpleasant surprises though”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is very good, being just across the street from the beach. While the room was dated, it was generally clean other than the trash not having been emptied, with a packet of cigarettes left in the can (more on this in a moment). The beds are comfortable, and the breakfast serviceable and in alignment with expectations for this class of hotel.

I booked the room via the Comfort Hotels iPhone app (very nice app- easy to use), which didn't clearly note any special conditions such as the $150 deposit required upon check-in. I travel a fair amount for business, and don't recall any hotel I've stayed in over the past 10 years requiring an up front deposit when the room is paid for via credit card- I can't say that any more. This hotel required the room rate plus deposit to be paid for up front, stipulating a room inspection prior to checkout and the subsequent refund of your deposit, noting that this is to protect them from incurring damage due to smoking or pets.

What made this interesting was the discovery of an open package of cigarettes in the trash (gee thanks, but we don't smoke) left in the room, leading one to believe either this was an interesting mistake, or an open door to allow the hotel to withhold a refund. In any event- we removed the trash prior to the inspection to eliminate the possibility of any confusion or refund issues. It was interesting to note that the checkout refund of the deposit was made with the credit card terminal "off line", leading the clerk to note that the refund "may or may not show up in a few days"- is this hotel owner holding the deposits to earn just a few more pennies of interest?

Please note that the room inspection will cause a slight delay in the checkout process, and that if you've not checked out by 15-20 minutes prior to the checkout time that you'll receive a helpful call from the front desk to make sure you're up and moving out. Perhaps this is a byproduct of being near the beach on a long weekend, but the service experiences and surprises didn't make this a pleasant experience.

I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, Manager at Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Stanley, I'm sending you this email in regards to your recent stay at our hotel and to apology for any inconvience you experienced. We are especially sorry for the long wait that you experienced upon check-out as a result of our security deposit policy. That policy has recently been reviewed and has been discontinued as of this week. Again, we are sorry for the negative experience that resulted from it. In regards to the issue about the cigarette package in your room's trash can, we've gone over this with housekeeping, and again we apologize for the incident. We hope that this will not tarnish your impression of the Econo Lodge brand and hope that you will continue to stay at Choice Hotels in the future. Thank you, Dina PatelManagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
5
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is decent and clean. The staff is friendly. They also have a small but free continental breakfast. The down side to all of this is the dang trains that are blowing their horn all hours of the night directly behind the building. Midnight train horn, 3 am train horn and then again 5 am. I have stayed here several times for work and same damn train horn all night.

Room Tip: Good luck trying to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, Manager at Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
we would like to thank you for your review. the trains are out of our control. we hope that you had a great stay despite the sound of the trains. if you are back in the area come by and see us.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very nice motel. We have been staying here for Cruzin for several years and always have upgrades to the site every year. Rooms are clean comfortable, with plenty of room so you do not feel cramped with a week long stay. The owners are very helpful and run a quiet, no nonsense business.

Room Tip: All rooms are light, large and comfortable. It is quieter in the back unit with less road noise, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, Manager at Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
we would like to thank you for your time to give us a review. we hope to see you in the future. cruzin will be here before we know it. have a wonderful day.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I got put here by lodging at Keesler AFB because they were full on base. Upon hearing that I was staying at an Econo Lodge, my heart sank, fearing the worst. I couldn't have been more wrong. I'll start by saying this isn't a 5-Star resort. However, the size and cleanliness of the rooms, matched with the attentiveness of the staff and housekeeping, was unparalleled. The managers were more than accommodating, there was a nice breakfast every morning, and my room was spotless every day I got home from class. It should also be noted that though the residence is just across Hwy 90 from the beach, I never once had water from Hurricane Isaac even come close to my room.

I'd mark this a full 5/5 if they had a washer & dryer on site, but they don't. There's a coin-op laundry in the campground next door though.

Regardless, I'd stay here again, especially after hearing about the nightmares others had with their rooms on base.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are slightly larger than the higher number rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, Manager at Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
mr. watt ,

we would like to thank you, we really enjoyed having your business, and you are welcome to come back any time. we really appreciate you taking your time to rate your stay at the hotel.


management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan falls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our stay at this motel was very good. They were very courteous and did everything they could to make our stay a great one. We chose to stay there as the rooms are clean and it is a quiet place to relax. They have a nice breakfast room. Great waffles.I would like to thank all the staff and the owner for going out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable time.If we make it back to Biloxi next year i will not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, Manager at Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
we are glad to know that you enyoyed your stay with us. we do hope to see you again next year if not before.we appreciate your business, and you have a nice day.


thank you,

managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have a 4 month extended stay at the Econo Lodge in Biloxi MS. The staff was reliable, courteous, and quick to respond to my needs. I would highly recommend staying at this location and if I return to Biloxi I would ask to stay at the Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: 101 is a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, General Manager at Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
thank you for giving your response on trip advisor. it was a joy to have you here. come back and see us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

For the money, this is a great little motel! Everything in Biloxi/Gulfport is overpriced but this place gives you a good bang for your buck. Front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is well stocked & includes make-your-own-waffles. Rooms are very clean - big flat screen TV & extra comfy beds. AC worked VERY well. Located across the street from the beach, a nice little beachfront bar & grill called Shaggy's & a Waffle House. Casinos nearby if that is your thing. Nice small pool, although it closes at 10. Was able to check-in 2 hours before stated check-in time of 2pm. Motel is near an active railroad line but, as I was with a 6 yr old who adores trains, this was a plus for us.

Room Tip: Stay in first building if you mind train noise. I stayed on first floor and upstairs noise was fairl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, General Manager at Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
the management of econolodge keesler afb would like to thank you for your review on trip advisor. we strive to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their stay. we hope you will come and see us again.

thank you,

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Keesler AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Keesler AFB

Address: 1776 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 hotels in Biloxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Keesler AFB 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Keesler AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Keesler Afb Hotel Biloxi
Econo Lodge Biloxi
Biloxi Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Keesler AFB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.