We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi

Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi to your Saves list
Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14201 Cook Road, Biloxi, MS 39532   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Biloxi
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The person who I spoke with on the phone - he was nice. The two women at the hotel not so much- The continental breakfasted consisted of cereal, small banana nut muffins, small pastries (raspberry and something else), coffee, juice, toast, and frozen waffles. In my opinion, not very appetizing at all. The room was on the second floor and I was told it was a non smoking floor. It reeked of something. I think it was an old "smoke" smell. The tables, floors, and loveseat all showed signs of smoke use. (there were burns on them) The towels were cheap and small and very few. The shampoo was terrible (in a small sample size packet). There were few other amenities ( no hand lotion and terrible bar soap). I had a large room with 2 double beds that were lumpy and the loveseat. The best thing I can say about the room is that it is a large room- other than that I would not recommend this to anyone. You would be better off getting a room near something as this is not really close to anything. Sure, it is only 10-15 minutes if you get on the highway, but seek out other accommodations. You will be glad you did.

Room Tip: room 204 smells bad and you have a view of a wall. And the tv is good size but one of the old tvs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize you were not satisfied and would like to respond on a few of your concerns and comments.

We would like to draw your attention to the fact that this is an economy sector property. You are not going to receive the same amenities for the price that you pay as the Hilton or Marriott. By hotel industry standards, a continental breakfast usually includes coffee and a pastry, however we offer a full breakfast with many options.
Regarding towels, our staff places 2 sets in a single and 3 sets in a double. We would gladly give you more towels if you require them. Our towels are 100% cotton.
Our amenities do not include lotion, and our TVs are 27" and while they are not flat screen, they are in excellent condition.
Our beds were replaced with Serta Pillowtop mattresses within the last year. We apologize you were not satisfied with them.
We do not advertise as a beachfront property, and are located along the Interstate. We are about 8 minutes from the beach, and many travelers prefer not to pay beach prices for this short commute.
Our team will look into the smoking or odor concern you cited.

We would love to have you come back, however, if you prefer a higher tier property, the management company also owns the Best Western PLUS next door, where you will find all of the amenities, breakfast and flat screen TVs you were looking for. Of course, this property is not an economy tier like Scottish Inn, so you will also have a higher price for these additional services.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    8
    9
    12
See reviews for
17
28
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

So, first of all, we arrived around 9 pm, exhausted, ready to shower and sleep. After watching tv and showering, we saw 2 bedbugs on the bed!! Unfortunately, I had bedbugs 3 years ago in Amsterdam, and I KNOW that's what it was.
Traumatized, we grabbed our stuff and went to the front desk to get a refund and alert them of the problem. The woman at the desk didn't even check our room. She just said "no, we don't have bedbugs. That's impossible." She wouldn't give us a refund because "we'd already been there for a couple hours." Ridiculous. I was so upset that I just left and we found another place to stay, even without a refund.
Fellow travelers, this was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. From what I've learned about bedbugs, of one room has them, it is likely that many rooms have them. Run. Run away from here!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We apologize you did not enjoy your stay. Our pest control vendor examined the room as protocol and found no evidence of bed bug activity. Further, they found no other pest activity while doing a thorough investigation. As such, your assessment of this matter was incorrect.

The name of our company is Presto-X with the invoice #8761462 dated 5/30/2013 for service if you wish to review the report. We will also gladly send it to you in the mail or via fax, feel free to contact the General Manager at the property for your copy.

Regarding our front desk and policies, the personnel is not permitted to leave the front desk unattended to enter a guest's room. Further, we did not refund your room 1) because no bed bug activity was found and 2) you used the room for several hours at your leisure. We would have gladly accommodated you with a different room to satisfy you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked the room for a weekend while in Biloxi. Very nice place. Clean safe room, minutes from the casinos and shopping. Great price, booked on line no trouble at all. Will stay again if ever in the Biloxi area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hello! Thank you for the review, we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Biloxi with our hotel. We look forward to having you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked a room at this establishment sight unseen as a place to stay for the night on the way from Ft Lauderdale FL to New Orleans. The staff was friendly, polite and full of southern hospitality! Our room was clean and quiet, and the price couldn't be beat.
We accidently left behind a hat, and the staff inventoried it so when I stopped in a week later on the way home, it was waiting for me at the front desk.
Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We do have a lost and found and are happy that you were able to have your hat back! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paincourtville, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Every time we visit the gulf coast, our choice for lodging is the Scottish Inn. We have been staying there for quite a few years every trip, and we travel aprox. once monthly to Biloxi. The
management and employees have all been extremely cooperative in addressing our every need, and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoy this location because it is in a quiet area, however very close to all the casinos and stores in the area.
The desk clerks, especially Mr. John...always is so kind to us and makes a special effort to take care of us on every visit. That goes a long way in an employee who has become our good friend. All of the other employees help us also upon any request. It's like home...away from home for us and we are very appreciative to all for their efforts. I favorably recommend this hotel for anyone travelling who wants a great place to stay, with no worries !

A.H.N.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay yet again. Thank you for continuing your patronage with Scottish Inn and Suites. Mr. John has been with us for a very long time, and we will pass on the fine compliments you have given him on his service to you. See you next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this hotel to go to the gulfport music fest. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.. the staff including John, Nita, and Kyndra at the front desk is very friendly and courteous. they did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable. Was really impressed with this hotel, the price was amazing.. Very clean, very neat, A++++ Will definetly be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for you kind compliments towards our staff. We take great pride in our team and making sure our guests are fully satisfied with their stay! Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked thru Expedia based on Trip Advisory rating. Motel lives up to its' ranking. Large, clean rooms w/ comfortable beds. Friendly staff. About 10 minutes from Biloxi casinos, just off I-10.
Can't comment on breakfast as we ate just down the block at Waffle House. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Staff has 2 for 1 casino buffet offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased you enjoyed Scottish Inn. Our team works hard to ensure a comfortable, clean and pleasurable stay! We would like to encourage you to call the hotel directly next time for the best deals! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi

Address: 14201 Cook Road, Biloxi, MS 39532
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Biloxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inns And Suites Biloxi
Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi Hotel Biloxi
Scottish Hotel Biloxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inns & Suites Biloxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.