We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly has advertised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Inn

Balmoral Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biloxi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmoral Inn
Save
You added Balmoral Inn to your Saves list
120 Balmoral Ave, Biloxi, MS 39531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Biloxi B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly has advertised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Lots of room, in a quiet area, in walking distance if you don't mind walking a little to get to the beach, just down the road from Edgewater Mall. We would describe the 1950's motel - as just that - a 1950's motel. The owner - Mike - super friendly. His website is 100% accurate. My family would prefer to stay at a little more modern establishment - not Mike's fault. The location is perfect, easy to get to restaurants - but allowed us to be in a quiet area without through traffic. Bathrooms are definitely "older" in appearance. Loved going out on front porch and looking at the Gulf - will always remember those moments.

Room Tip: If you don't mind older motel - this is perfect. We just prefer a little more modern rooms/part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Demotte, IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Love this place! Nice roomy apartment style stay! Very Pet Friendly! Lovely quiet residential neighborhood to walk with your dog! Away from the heart of Biloxi, but close enough to everything. Nice pool area. Beach access across the highway. Shopping down the street! Mike, the owner, super friendly and a wealth of area information. Has been our home away from home for a week. We hope to make it two weeks in 2013! If you need Vegas style hotel, try the Hard Rock or Beau Rivage. If you want privacy & relaxation, this is the place! You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo,ND
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed for a week at under $480 - what a value! Some of the Biloxi hotels charge that much for a Friday and Saturday night stay alone.
This is a 'guy' review but I loved the place. It is in a quiet residential area and only a very short distance to the beach and mall. Had plenty of space and a quiet nights sleep which are my priorities. Mike (the proprietor) was a wealth of knowledge about places to eat and visit and very happy to share and make my stay enjoyable. I shipped my bicycle out early and he was happy to store it for me and also kept it after I left until FedEx could come and pick it up.

Definitely not upscale lodging though so if that is important to you then go elsewhere. The 10 units are all in a one story rectangular building with the middle space allocated for washer/dryer, extra towels and bedding, etc. The building is cement block construction, the carpets are well worn, the TV's are old style (not flat screen), dishes are mismatched, etc.

However the high-speed internet worked awesome (can watch steamed Netflix movies without buffering). Had a full size refridgerator, microwave and mini-dishwasher. I was in unit 5 which I think is the one Mike did a video of on YOUTUBE with the Parrots on the wall (search for Balmoral Inn on YOUTUBE and check it out).

Would DEFINITELY reccomend if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep, plenty of space, kitchenette, high speed internet, within a short walk of the beach at a great price.

Also has the typical outdoor pool for lounging but not big enough for lap swimmng.I did swim in the gulf but that was a little weird since the water is coffee colored and very shallow (below my knees) until you get quite a ways out. I did find a local health club (EFitness) about 12 minutes away that was awesome and got my lap swims in. EFitness has both an indoor and outdoor 25 yard pools, steam room, sauna, hottub, tons of exercise equipment. I bought a weekly membership for $25. Mike says there are also comunnity centers and the Biloxi Natitorium that have swimming options for just a couple of bucks a day [I always like to get my exercise in when travelling because the all-you can eat buffets at the casinos can really pack in the calories].
Speaking of casinos - if you are looking for blackjack on the cheap would recommend Boomtown. I was always able to get in on their $3 limit blackjack table (they also had some others with higher minimums) and could lose a few hands without burning thru my budget. Did I say this was a 'guy' review?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

What a great place.Wanted to go to New Orleans.Could not get a room there so someone suggested Biloxi.When i typed in Biloxi Hotels Balmoral was the first to pop-up.Had good reviews so we booked it.It is great.I had a good feeling before we got there because of such nice e-mails from the owner.You will not go wrong staying there.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are the same.Huge-couch 2 recliners sofa bed fridge stove and DISHWASHER.Hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked the Balmoral Inn for 3 nights over the Mardi Gras holiday on our first trip to Biloxi because we make a point of staying in historic properties and because we were looking to save a few dollars by eating a few meals in. We were given room 5, the one with the parrot murals, which I found wonderfully kitschy. The good -- it is walking distance to the beach and to the local mall (if you're so inclined). The two-room apartments are large for the price, and fully furnished. It was great to come back after a day out and sink down into a comfortable couch to relax. It also meant that one of us could stay up later or get up earlier and read or watch t.v. without disturbing the other. The bathroom retains its original flooring and tiled walls, which we love. The king size bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The closet area in the bedroom is the largest I've ever encountered. The kitchenette includes a large pantry and the cutest little countertop disherwasher I've ever seen. The coffee maker worked and the coffee provided was good. The bad -- the carpets desperately need to be changed. Plan to wear shoes or slippers. The pillows also need to be replaced. If you're staying long-term, bring your own. Same with the towels. Some of new, thick, and soft, but most are old, thin, and scratchy. I should have known not to trust a man when he says that the kitchen is "fully stocked." Stove and refrigerator in working order -- yes. Plates, cups, glasses, bowls, flatware -- yes. Decent knives -- no. Cooking utensils -- no. Pots and saucepans -- yes. Baking sheet or baking pan -- no. No towels, dishcloths, or sponges. No paper towels or napkins. Detergent packs for the dishwasher -- yes. No dishwashing liquid for the pans that won't fit in the dishwasher. No salt or pepper. I've learned, though, and so I brought my own pack of "necessities," which includes salt, pepper, a sharp knife, a roll of paper towels and a roll of foil.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Clean, comfortable, suites sport "Retro" furnishings. The atmosphere is casual,friendly andrelaxing due to host Mike who makes guests and their pets feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay as did our poodle.

Room Tip: End suites are convenient when taking pets outsidesince there is an area to relieve themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ms
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

When I decided to take a vacation, I wanted to take my adopted shelter puppy with me. I looked for pet friendly places and found Balmoral Inn on the internet. What a find! Clean, huge apartment type suite with kitchen, full living room, computer desk equipped with WiFi and separate bedroom. Great clean pool and lots of grounds with a park across the street for Chocko, my pup. Although Tropical Storm Lee was the main event at the time, we still had a great time. Ms. Debbie, co-host with Mike, was so kind as to write up "a canine vacation plan" with a list of places to go with my best friend. I have already told all my friends.

Room Tip: Very quiet rooms. Kitchens are equipped with everything you need and a dishwasher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biloxi hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Biloxi
Quality Inn Biloxi
#18 of 45 in Biloxi
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
4.4 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#2 of 45 in Biloxi
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Biloxi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Biloxi
Hampton Inn Biloxi
#3 of 45 in Biloxi
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
2.6 mi away
South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites
5.6 mi away
Beau Rivage Resort & Casino Biloxi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Inn

Address: 120 Balmoral Ave, Biloxi, MS 39531
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biloxi
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.