We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST TRY!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taranto's Crawfish

Taranto's Crawfish
12404 John Lee Road, Biloxi, MS
228 392-0990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 187 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
Restaurant details
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A MUST TRY!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This seafood place is one of those that is a "must try". Great seafood, great ambiance, and friendly servers...what more could you want?
On the north side of Interstate 10, this nothing special to look at place has been in business for 7 years, serving locals who knew of this hidden gem. Off the beaten path to the point you should have a GPS to help find, it is worth the time to drive to from hotels located on the beach. Now that they have been added to Trip Advisor, the word will spread, so the great food will have to be shared by the locals.
Both the exterior and interior are nothing special---the food is the attraction. Great Po-boys, seafood platters, and home made crab cakes. Had to try the bread pudding---don't miss it. The staff was super, treating us like old friends that happened to stop in.
Be sure to visit this Taranto's and not confuse it with another seafood place in Ocean Springs with almost the same name. The one in Ocean Springs is good---this one is better.
Minor complaint---the cole slaw should be made the night before, rather than when they open, so it will be cold.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Don't let the exterior fool you, this is prob one of the favorite places for local's. PoBoys, Crawfish, Shrimp, Catfish, everything you look for in good ole Biloxi Food

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Seafood !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Of all the places I have eaten catfish or shrimp, this was by far the best. Had the catfish platter and my daughter had the shrimp platter. Both were just great. Service was excellent also. Don't let the appearance of the place fool you or you will miss the seafood meal of a lifetime. Would be visiting again when in the area.

Jerome
Dallas, TX

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YOU FOOLED ME AGAIN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This was a terrible experience. After reading to reviews we were excited to go to lunch here. At first we were sure we had the wrong restaurant. The shrimp was out of a freezer bag and the gumbo was too spicy and had enough salt to cure meat. The bath room is frightening. I have this one an average because the service was good but the food was poor and atmosphere is like a biker bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I would drive back to Mississippi just to eat here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have never had a better steak sandwich in my entire life. In addition to the friendly staff and fantastic down-home atmosphere (looks a little sketchy on the outside), everything we tasted was fantastic and more than fairly priced (it really was a steal).
Out of 10 days travelling from Savannah to Texas, this was our favorite place (and we are foodies who really research our culinary destinations).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taranto's Crawfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taranto's Crawfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.