We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desporte & Sons Seafood Market & Deli

Desporte & Sons Seafood Market & Deli
1075 West Division Street, Biloxi, MS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 187 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Gautier, Mississippi, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Desporte and Sons seafood has the freshest and best seafood on the coast. They also have a great selection of fish. You can also get made to order pressed po boys.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    15
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Find Thanks to TripAdvisor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We needed a place for lunch after a visit to the Ohr-O'Keefe Museum in Biloxi and found Deporte & Sons Fishmarket and Deli on TripAdvisor. We had visitors from the Czech Republic so we were trying to take them to interesting places with good local cuisine. Well this little restaurant section of a seafood market was perfect. First, it was close to the Museum and, thus, very convenient. Second, one of our guests was delighted even before we entered because the nice smells of the seafood market filled the air. Third, as we began reading menus to decide what to order, members of a family, just finishing their meals started telling us how good various items were. they may have been good friends with the owners, but their comments echoed things I had read in TripAdvisor. In any event, we ordered the jambalaya egg rolls plus our main courses, drinks, and one pecan praline to show our guests that special southern treat. The total cost was relatively minimal. The egg rolls were unique and delicious. The daily special had almost more fried catfish than I could eat plus a fine potato salad, and a good seafood gumbo. All four of us had to work on finishing our lunch and all four of us finished every bit. I would not take my wife to Desporte and Sons for our next wedding anniversary, but I will stop there for lunch every time we get back to Biloxi. The lady who took our orders at the counter, was wonderfully friendly and the younger lady who delivered various items to our table was an absolute sweetheart in the best sense of a friendly staffer. The decor is 100% appropriate for the fun, relaxed experience of dining there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was such a great little place. Does have a smell as it is a raw seafood market but totally worth it. We had the special of the day which was a great value and good (fried fish, coleslaw, fries & a drink). Also had a shrimp basket which was delicious. The shrimp gumbo was good. The service was great, they made you feel like you had been there many times...looked like lots of regulars which is always a good sign. Sweet tea was excellent. We're hoping to stop back again before the trip is over because it was so good and affordable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food even better prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This is just a fish market that serves food. Nothing fancy but a very nice place just the same. I ordered a pound of boiled shrimp and got over a pound and a half. That and a soda was 8.00. They tasted great and very nice people running the market. Don't miss it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starkville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local flair for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I found this place by accident, calling around trying to find some bottled remoulade for Montana relatives (they can't get it out there). Anyway, after I bought that, I had a shrimp po-boy for lunch. It was really good, the shrimp were a wee bit over fried, but still good. Their home-made remoulade was spectacular! I wish they bottled it. The place is half seafood market and half deli, so it's casual. The staff is friendly and the food is good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desporte & Sons Seafood Market & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Desporte & Sons Seafood Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desporte & Sons Seafood Market & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.