We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood with an Excellent View of the Gulf of Mexico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant

McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant
695 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS
228-435-5001
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 187 restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: They just reopened their Biloxi location after being destroyed 6 1/2 years ago by Hurricane Katrina. The location is just east of the Hard Rock Casino in Biloxi, MS on Highway 90. This place gets 5 stars!!!!!!
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good seafood with an Excellent View of the Gulf of Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Gumbo was good - not great but good. The broiled oysters were good. The fried crab claws were great. The club sandwich and french fries were delicious. The poboys looked amazing. Will return to try the oyster soup.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    88
    72
    43
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There are a lot of local places to eat in Biloxi, most fail in comparison to McElroy's. Sure, they cater to the tourist, always have, but locals eat there too, and love it!

The seafood is fresh and food tasty. If you are looking for something truly local, get the Po Boy, it's pressed and dressed on fresh bread. Shrimp and roast beef are local favorites, but don't pass on the crab Po Boy. Try a cup of gumbo, or if you're there for lunch, a daily special.

This restaurant is well worth passing up on the fast food places for and one of the best local spots on the Coast.

Oh, the view of Deer Island and the Sound is spectacular! If the weather is good, eat out on the deck for a real treat. Oh, and DON'T feed the seagulls!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Big delicious breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We shared beignets, which were light and delicious.
I got the pancake stack for $4.95, which was 3 large pancakes, had to share them as were so big.
The coffee was good.
I sampled the grits. They were creamy and good on their own.
Great low cost eatery, wished we would have made it back for dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Natives of the coast, we return a couple times a year to see relatives and eat seafood. McElroy's has been one of our favorites for years, but this location was lost to Katrina. We continued to eat at the location in Ocean Springs but it was never quite the same.

The old McElroy's is back, and boy is it good! This trip we ate there twice and enjoyed both meals. The crab claw appetizer was wonderful with fat claws fried just right. And not a restaurant on the coast can equal McElroy's gumbo which we both enjoyed. We topped it off with peel and eat shrimp which were seasoned just right and cooled to just the right temperature to make for easy peeling.

The service was superb. I wish I could remember our servers names, but they both were very attentive without being hovering.

Prices were comparable or a little less than most quality seafood restaurants on the coast.

We shall return as soon as we get back to MS.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Price vs. quality and service was over rated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I dined at McElroy's on 13 Jan 13. We ordered drinks, and that's where it all started. My husband asked for a martini and was asked what was in it; however, the waitress said we have a book and we can try to make one for you. My husband said to just get him a Bacardi and coke. As we waited for our drinks and food, crackers (wrapped) with two large paper containers, which contained butter, was put in front of us. Our salads arrived shortly after with the packaged salad dressing on top of the salads. My order was undecioked and my husbands fish was seared to the bottom of the pan it was served on. We were home on emergency leave and wanted one good seafood experience before returning to our Gov. Tour of duty - this was mistake. At $20 per plate we expected better service, and to receive condiments that are not in packages or paper containers.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.