We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McElroy's; From Great to Okay - Service Makes a Difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant

McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant
695 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS
228-435-5001
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 191 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: They just reopened their Biloxi location after being destroyed 6 1/2 years ago by Hurricane Katrina. The location is just east of the Hard Rock Casino in Biloxi, MS on Highway 90. This place gets 5 stars!!!!!!
Louisville
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“McElroy's; From Great to Okay - Service Makes a Difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We LOVED McElroy's on our first visit. It was a little breezy, but we opted for outdoor seating so we could enjoy the birds and boats. The fish was fantastic! The service was as well. Our waitress - a real treasure - said the fish was whiting. It was lightly fried - not at all greasy - and the 'meat' was delicate and flaky. The fries were very nice as well, but the baked potato was forgettable.
We liked the fish so well that we went back with a larger crowd. We sat indoors. The service was spotty, the food was only okay. Our waitress said they had no whiting that day, and she acted as though they never did. I got shrimp and grits, which was good, but since I had eaten the same meal in the French Quarter earlier in the week, the comparison was too fresh - McElroy's was good, but not as good as the NOLA meal. One person in our party got a shrimp po boy and he said it was the best he'd had.
For the money, I've had better. I wish there were a three and a half rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    88
    47
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lamoni, Iowa
1 review
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The food was terrific, and the view was something that all should experience once in their life. I would highly recommend eating here, if you are fan of a dining experience that will leave a wonderful, lasting impression!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We loved the view, the food, the service, and the all around lunch atmostphere. Just know that the servings are enough for two people to share.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just plain good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

On a recent trip to Biloxi we decided to try McElroy's. It has a very pretty view of the marina and gulf. The restaurant is not fancy but very clean! My husband had the catfish which was very tasty with just the right amount of breading. I had the crab stuffed shrimp, the stuffing was actually wrapped around the shrimp and overpowering! The coleslaw was delicious! Service was excellent!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“won't go back!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

OMG...this place is edible @ best. It took forever for the waitress to get to our table & she called me honey several times. I was old enough to be her grandmother. The salad was pathetic and limp. Broiled oyster appitizer was just OK. We had the seafood platter. The hush puppies were deep fried as hard as a brick. I should have gone to trip advisor first & we would have passed on this joint. The view is lovely but that's the best thing about McElroy's. Save your money folks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.