We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charge for Internet access!????” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Gulf Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harrah's Gulf Coast to your Saves list
Harrah's Gulf Coast
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Biloxi
GreenLeadersSilver level
Myrtle Grove, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“They charge for Internet access!????”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Biloxi Gulf Coast gaming seems to be recovering from Hurricane Katrina two years ago. The Biloxi Grand Casino has a nice covered parking garage. There is also covered valet parking right in front of the front door to both the casino and hotel front desk.

Our check in was very efficient and painless. We were offered our choice of a room with a Gulf view or a quieter location away from Hwy 90 and Casino Row.

All of the staff we encountered from Amber at the front desk who checked us in (and out) to the personnel at the Buffet, gaming area, and the housekeeping staff were very courteous, pleasant, and helpful.


The Buffet food was good but not as plentiful as before when MGM owned this property. The dining area is spacious.

The Casino area is small, but they are rebuilding across hwy 90 next to the water. It is supposed to be a collaboration between Harrah's and Jimmy Buffet building a Margaretaville Entertainment complex with a casino, hotel, and retail spaces.
It is scheduled to open sometime in 2010. The two overhead walkways over Hwy 90 remain in tact. I guess so that guests will be able to go back and forth between to two Harrah's properties.


They now have a Starbucks in the lobby with pastries and sandwiches.

L.B.’s steakhouse is located next to Starbucks.

They have a bar next to the lobby and swimming pool.

We missed the extra security that MGM had in place that required inserting your room key before being granted access to hotel elevators.
One change we did like was that now the vending and ice machines on each floor are now housed in a room with an enclosed glass entry door. That should help keep the noise down for adjacent rooms.

Our room was clean and well appointed. It had a plasma t.v. and a Sony clock radio with cd player. The dial on the clock radio was kind of bright and we had to cover it up when sleeping.
The room had nice big crown molding and comfortable pillow top bedding. We noticed that there was a lack of, or a missing room directory telling about the property. An in room coffee maker was provided. The bathroom was nicely tiled, and had ample amount of towels, hair dryer, complimentary shower cap and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. The wall mounted swing out mirror was unlighted and not magnified.

The entrance door did have the usual crack between the bottom of the door and carpet that seems to be the hotel standard. A pet peeve of ours that adds to noise from hallway traffic.

There is a One Dollar charge for local, 800, and 411 calls. ATT&T
operated assisted calls are the cost of the call plus a 25% service charge.

One room up charge that MGM tried to stick on your bill is now missing. (Bottled water in the room.)


One thing that surprised us was Harrah's charges a fee of $11.00 for wireless internet access for 24 hrs.
This really rubbed us the wrong way. In this age of instant communication even most economy motels offer their guests free internet access! This one factor may make us decide to stay at one of the other Casinos on our next trip.

Harrah's needs to rethink their policy of charging for Internet access!

  • Liked — Comfort items
  • Disliked — Fee for Internet access!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    255
    170
    74
    62
See reviews for
120
351
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guntersville, Alabama
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

This was mine and my boyfriends first time at the Grand and in Biloxi. We were very excited due to all the photos and computer hype about the hotel. However the hotel didn't quite fit the image nor the prices we paid for the weekend. The staff was friendly. Our room was missing a chair for the table--that they brought to us as we were checking out, the starbucks was too high, the casino was very small, the eating choices were limited and the buffet was the worst we ate out 3 other hotels. The casino was cluttered together, and not very gamble friendy. The golf course that is advertised so much is very nice, however they fail to mention that it's 45 minutes away from your hotel. The fitness area is not free and the pool area doesn't have the waterfalls that the pictures display with linking websites. My advice stay at the Beau Rivage or Hard Rock--their casino areas are larger and have more to offer, their food choices vary more and all are great, the view from both are awesome and the pools both overlook the water. The insides of both will drop your jaw--the Grand doesn't have any of the above!

  • Liked — leaving and going to other hotels to gamble, eat, shop, and sight see
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

perfect comfort. clean. new ammenities. fast check- in. excellent.

  • Liked — everything was top shelf and got the room for $89 and it retails for $260 a night!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

This is the second time we stayed at the Grand, very much enjoyed both visits, they comped our two nights there. Room was very clean, bar and cocktail staff very attentive. Alas, we did not score any big wins, but we'll be back again.

  • Liked — To be honest, they were free!
  • Disliked — Everything was excellent
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed here on 5/30/07 and 5/31/07. Returned on 06/04/07 for one night. This was our first trip to Biloxi since Katrina, I can't imagine how bad it must have been, because there is still a lot of renovating to do in this area. Riding down 90 made me want to cry, I have some good memories of times spent there with my kids and grandkids. People seem to be upbeat and are just trying to rebuild without making a big todo about it. Enough said about that!

The Grand is very nice, but I think only temporary until new place is built across the road. The rooms were like new, the staff couldn't have been friendlier. We asked for a gulf facing room both times but they're wasn't one available when we got there, they blocked it for us and called our cell phone when it was ready. Casino is very small and not many payouts that I saw. We got a sandwich at Starbucks that was good. Parking was convenient.

We mostly played at Beau Rivage and did much better. Got all of our meals comped there. We will probably stay there next time we go, simply for convenience of gambling and comps. It is still as beautiful as ever.

  • Liked — Very clean and quiet. Pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Casino too smalll
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

I really didn't think a casino would be full of children, but at The Grand Casino Biloxi, it looks like small children out number the adults. They were screaming in their rooms, slamming doors and running through the hallway. Forget about relaxing at the pool, it looked like Disney World. Parents went so far as to have them sit on the outskirts of the lobby bar while they drank.
The casino has alot of the newer video slots. VERY confusing, so stick with the tables. Also... if you would like a cocktail, good luck finding a waitress/waiter. They are pretty understaffed in that department, but you can always pay $6.00 at that "KIDDY BAR".

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too many small children
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, TN
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My nephew and I spent from 5/23/07 to 5/26/07 at the Grand in Boloxi and have never been treated so kindly. The hotel was great and the employees were even greater. The casino was staffed with the finest of employees and the place was very clean and kept that way. As to the winnings in the casino they were also great. I will say this I came home with more money than I went to Boloxi with. We already are planning another trip to Boloxi as we live in Tennessee and have to drive about 7 hours.
I cannot not say enough good about this hotel and casino. If you think I am just saying this try it and find out for your self.
Thanks Grand for a wonderful time TO REMEMBER.
R. Lovelace

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Gulf Coast

Address: 280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Biloxi
#4 Spa Hotel in Biloxi
#7 Casino Hotel in Biloxi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Biloxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Gulf Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Gulf Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel And Spa
Grand Biloxi Hotel Biloxi
Grand Casino Biloxi Mississippi
Grand Casino Biloxi Ms
Grand Casino Hotel Biloxi
Grand Casino In Biloxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Gulf Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.