We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest experience !!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Gulf Coast

Save Saved
You added Harrah's Gulf Coast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harrah's Gulf Coast
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 hotels in Biloxi
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not the greatest experience !!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We checked in, went to our room and what did we find? Makeup, blood stains and long strands of black hair in the sheets!! ( I have short blonde hair). Hotel wasnt even apologetic, etc.... All they did was remake the bed with fresh linen--- the pool is fantastic!! Food at hotel-- n/a.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    236
    158
    70
    58
See reviews for
108
322
49
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Before Hurricane Katrina, my husband and I would enjoy a few days at the Grand in Biloxi It was a first class hotel and casino. This week, we took 5 friends with us to Biloxi. We had bragged on how nice the Grand was, and that we always got a VIP's welcome. What a change! No more VIP check in. We arrived at 2:15 pm and were told that our rooms were ready. However, if we checked in before 3:00 pm they would charge each room an extra $15! What! You would think they would want us in and in the casino asap. The rooms were clean and a nice size. However, the furniture had seen better days. Very scared up. The casino itself is small, but not crowded. Other than the casino and the pool, there is NO place to get away from the clanging bells of slot machines. At the old hotel, across the street, their LB's restaurant was one to brag about. No more. It is just a place to eat. Our last time at the Grand Casino, Biloxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Funiak Spg. Fl.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I went to Biloxi to deliver some wheelchairs to the V.A. Hospital,that where donated by the D.A.V. So we decided to play a little in the process.Check in Quick and easy.I had reserved a king bed smoking room.The person that checked us in made a comment that it was to bad that we where only staying one night because she had given us a great room.When we went to the room,we open the doors,she had put us in a suite.One of the most beautiful rooms,two sets of bathrooms, a living room, a dinning area with a small fridge and a coffee maker, 2 42 inch tv's, one in the bed room and one in the living room.Beds where comfortable,but the pillows left a little to be desired.We usualy bring our own pillows from home when ever go to stay in a motel,but we forgot them this time.I can't fault the Grand about the pillows,everyone has a personal preference. We had a great time and would recomend the Grand to any one.Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rate varies by day and changed a lot day to day. Rates are sometimes a steal at $40 or so. Room was clean, bed great, pretty good condition. No frig and expensive wi-fi but who really needs them? Use your phone. Recommend this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This might be the most generic casino/hotel I've ever stayed at. Bare bones accomodations (i.e. no room fridge), and you have to pay for wi-fi. At the weekday rate of $40 a night, it's fantastic....at the weekend rate of $190 a night, decidedly less so.

So why stay here at all? Two words: video poker. This place (along with Margaritaville) features the best video poker odds in Mississippi. Google it if you don't believe me. At the Grand Biloxi Casino, it takes almost an hour for the house to win $20 from you on Jacks or Better poker. At the Hard Rock it takes 35 minutes, and the Beau Rivage is the worst at 20 minutes.

If you're a reasonably good video poker player you can play about a hundred more hands before "busting out" at this place than at the Beau Rivage, and playing that many more hands increases the likelihood that you'll hit a big-money jackpot....I've done this twice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were not expecting to stop in biloxi but glad we stayed at the grand casino great price on a Thursday for the room and the buffet is buy one get one free on thursday and Friday. comfortable room very friendly staff, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Ga.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Grand Casino Biloxi was a very good value for the price we paid. We stayed overnight there on our way to New Orleans.

It is a no frills hotel and casino. The lobby is very small, located directly off of the parking garage. It is actually more of an area than an actual lobby. There is an outdoor pool and a small café in this general area. The girl checking us in was both friendly and efficient.

Our room was spacious and had everything that we needed. It was very clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the shower in the bath was great.

We arrived late and didn't feel like going out again so we opted for the $19.95 buffet. We were so happy that we did. The freshness and quality of this buffet rivals any in Los Vegas. The jumbo shrimp were iced cold, the Gumbo delicious, and the salad bar plentiful. Tom loved the prime rib and fried chicken, I had a bite of each and completely concurred.

There is no entertainment at the hotel except on weekends. Like I said, no frills!

We did not gamble so I can't report to you on that. The casino didn't appear to be too large though.

The indoor parking was free. Yea!! I love free!! It was also very convenient to the hotel with our luggage.

I would seek out this hotel to stay at on our next trip to New Orleans because of the price, convenient location and delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrah's Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Gulf Coast

Address: 280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Biloxi
#4 Spa Hotel in Biloxi
#7 Casino Hotel in Biloxi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Biloxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Gulf Coast 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Harrah's Gulf Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Biloxi Hotel Biloxi
Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel And Spa
Grand Casino Biloxi Mississippi
Grand Casino Biloxi Ms
Grand Casino Hotel Biloxi
Grand Casino In Biloxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Gulf Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.