We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Gulf Coast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Gulf Coast to your Saves list
Harrah's Gulf Coast
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Biloxi
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Grand Biloxi Casino was okay. The rooms were comfortable and clean. However, they charge an extra $10 a day to rent a refrigerator. Clearly a money making act because of the demographics of people I saw come through the casino i.e. mostly older people who probably have some health issues that require refrigeration of medicine (I'm older but didn't have medicine to store). The staff was VERY friendly and helpful and that was a real plus. The buffet had a special deal BOGO on the days we were there. The pool was closed, but you could still sit at the pool area although it was cool. We got a great rate. Clearly the area is still recovering from Katrina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank empres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Grand Casino really isn't that grand. There is really nothing exciting about the hotel. The room was comfortable and cozy enough. On weekdays I guess the buffett is closed for breakfast and you have to go to the little cafe in front of lobby. The hotel and casino itself are so small that it seems like you are just in a regular hotel off a interstate or something. I mean for comparision if you stay at the Grand...make sure you go check out the Beau Rivage....the Beau Rivage is what a hotel/casino should be. Also, the casino at the Grand is so small...there aren't really many slot machines to choose from...I got kinda bored and just ended up heading back to my room. One good thing is the little cafe beside check in is 24 hours and they have awesome Ceasar Salads. Oh and remember when you check in... the hotel holds an extra 50.00 dollars which is put back into your account after about a week after checking out (if you don't damage anything in the room.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afmil03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ask for a room upgrand and got a very lovely suite. As this was a business trip, we had to pay for internet service. We stayed on a Mon. night and the BOGO free buffet was worth the money. Also got the same for breakfest the next morning. This hotel charges for late check-out. As this was a business trip we did not have time to gamble. Would of like to though.

Room Tip: Check additional fees before making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Not our first stay here so we knew what to expect. As with previous trips - room not overly luxurious but clean with a large comfortable bed. Decent sized flat screen TV and what appeared to be new dresser. Beautiful artwork over the bed and in the steakhouse. Bathroom fairly basic but also clean. I'm not sure what another poster was talking about w/ respect to a foul smell as our experience was quite the opposite. My friend (first time stay for her) even remarked on how fresh and clean smelling the hallways & rooms were.

The casino is very small and can be smokey when busy. The pool is good sized with a lovely view of the Gulf from the deck. We didn't get to the buffet as they weren't serving breakfast the day we tried. We did dine in the steakhouse, which was fantastic.

Staff were all friendly - most notably in the steakhouse. Hotel lobby bar is a nice place for a drink/snack. Coffee station in the lobby also convenient.

Room Tip: If possible - view of the gulf is best. End of the hallway as the walls do let in a bit of "ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOCommishNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for the super bowl and were very disappointed. We thought the name of the hotel Grand Biloxi and it being a Casino that it would be top notch. We do a lot of traveling and only stay at nice top rated resorts and hotels.

It started with a $25 early check in although we had reservations and they already had rooms ready and available. We arrived at 9:30 and was told there is a $25 check in before noon and $15 after noon before 3 PM. So we went to breakfast and came back at 11:50 and they still charged us $25. Which we did not find out until check out. Even-though they had rooms available, given the time that we came back they could have at least charged us the $15 fee.

Now, let's talk about the hotel. The entire place has old outdated carpet and they must have had some kind of water damage because the carpets are warped, wrinkled and must smell awful because they put down so much carpet fresh that it made my asthma and allergies kick in.

Did not stand up to the 3 star rating. Very disappointed.

The only reason we give it a 2 is because the staff throughout the hotel was very polite and helpful and the bathrooms in the rooms were updated.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank M_and_M_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is the second year we've chosen the Grand Biloxi as our winter break destination (January and February). The room rates we received were awesome (got 4 nights for the price of one in Tunica). The hotel staff are very gracious and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The parking garage is adjacent to the entrance so we never had to go outside. Restaurant offerings were many, from the 24/7 deli (awesome sandwiches), Cafe and Buffet. During off months like January and February, the Buffet offers one day at BOGO. This time we had steak made to our liking along with all of the rest of the delicious food fare.
The Grand Casino is centrally located on Beach Blvd with a view of the coastline. It's close to other casinos (some within walking distance). It's nice to go down the elevator and into the casino, have some spirits, win some money, and not have to drive home because you're already there. This is our "place of choice" for the Biloxi area...try it, you'll like it.

Mary and Bronko
Hobart, IN

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at The Grand on Thursday and had a wonderful time. I arrived later than I intended and checked in and played in the casino for a while. We had the best time playing roulette and the blackjack table next to us joined in our fun. Kiet was great, I think the lovely lady before him was Ms. Terri and she was so much fun! I met so many fun people that night it was difficult to remember names. The floor managers that night were the best and I had a great time with the entire group.

I was very pleased that I met Dean McBride, Director Casino Operations, so that I could give compliments to the people that were so nice to me.

I returned Saturday night and enjoyed the best dinner at L.B.'s Steakhouse and Steven, our waiter, was so attentive and we really enjoyed our meal.

Thank you for a grand experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biloxi hotels
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Biloxi
2.0 mi away
IP Casino Resort Spa - Biloxi
5.3 mi away
Treasure Bay Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#2 of 45 in Biloxi
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Biloxi
Hampton Inn Biloxi
#7 of 45 in Biloxi
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Gulf Coast

Address: 280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Biloxi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Biloxi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Biloxi
#8 Business Hotel in Biloxi
#10 Family Hotel in Biloxi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Biloxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Gulf Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harrah's Gulf Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel And Spa
Grand Biloxi Hotel Biloxi
Grand Casino Biloxi Mississippi
Grand Casino Biloxi Ms
Grand Casino Hotel Biloxi
Grand Casino In Biloxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing