We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but Sedate Atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Gulf Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Gulf Coast to your Saves list
Harrah's Gulf Coast
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Biloxi
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant but Sedate Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Stayed at the Grand for three days over Thanksgiving. First trip back to Biloxi since Katrina. We had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Grand, and came away with some positive and negative impressions.

Positives- Friendly and accommodating staff in hotel and casino; clean, comfortable and quiet rooms; varied games and good drink service in casino; Starbucks in lobby area

Negatives- No coffee pots in rooms, though listed in amenities on website; limited dining options other than Buffet; small and smoky casino; slots were tight, didn't see any big winners.

This is a very sedate hotel/casino, most suitable for visitors who do not enjoy like a loud, high energy setting like Hard Rock or Beau Rivage. We used the Grand as our "home base" but visited the other local casinos for most of our dining and gambling.

  • Liked — quiet rooms, comfortable bed/ pillows
  • Disliked — limited dining options
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    266
    178
    78
    64
See reviews for
126
373
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Spent two nights at the grand then drove to Gulf Shores, Ala. than came back to spend another beautiful night at the Grand before we had to fly home. Every detail at the Grand was more than sufficent for us. The parking is convenient to your room. The check in was quick and staff very friendly. There is not a long walk to your room. The rooms are first class. Beds are the best I have ever had-I even came home and bought the same bed ! I noticed the pillows were duck feathers-can't find that yet but I am looking! The casino is small and I felt the slot machines very tight. Did not see any winners when we were there! The food adequate-my husband loved Starbucks. Best meal we had was the buffet at Treasure Isle. We also stayed at the Isle Of Capri -found the total opposite of the Grand. Many angry people at the check in desk (including us for not getting our reservations right) Promised a lot of things and got none. The rooms are ok but I kept looking out the window wishing I was at the Grand. So here to you Grand for making our vacation nice. Will be back.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — the casino
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We enjoyed our visit to Biloxi. There was some sadness at the driveways that go to "nowhere" off the beach road but we were also impressed with the progress made since Katrina. Our
stay at the Grand Biloxi was quite nice after we got past the rude valet attendants. Check in was fast and our room was just lovely with comfy beds and pretty bathroom. Everyone who worked here with the exception of valet were friendly and smiling. The only downfall is, I have to say their crab leg buffet was the worst buffet I have had in my life. Its sad to say that the best thing on the buffet was spaghetti, as its hard to mess that up. The legs were not even warm, I thought I hit the jackpot when crab legs just came out of the kitchen. They were not even warm coming from the kitchen. The cocktail sauce that went with the luke warm shrimp had a wierd flavor, almost like ammonia. We did some gambling and found the dealers very friendly. Overall, a great stay!

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The buffet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Going to Biloxi for the first time since the devestating hurricanes, their were no expectations for this trip. Pleasantly this trip was fabulous. The Hotel was clean, the staff pleasant, the food out of this world.. Breakfast Buffet is worth waking up for and the Po Boy's at the Asian Cafe authentic Cajun. They even have a 24 hour starbucks for those late nights or early mornings at the casino. Their beds rank in comfortability right up their with 5 star hotels like the Four Season Resorts. The casino payouts were not so great but for a $1.00 one way a casino hopper bus will pick you up in front of the casino and take you to any of the other local casino's. The hopper bus runs every 15 minutes. We had a great time at BoomTown Casino on the river. This was an unexpected pleasant surprise for a great trip. Support the Gulf Coast and take a trip to Biloxi.

  • Liked — The Beds,Plasma Tv, The view
  • Disliked — A better Room Service Menu
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Grove, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Biloxi Gulf Coast gaming seems to be recovering from Hurricane Katrina two years ago. The Biloxi Grand Casino has a nice covered parking garage. There is also covered valet parking right in front of the front door to both the casino and hotel front desk.

Our check in was very efficient and painless. We were offered our choice of a room with a Gulf view or a quieter location away from Hwy 90 and Casino Row.

All of the staff we encountered from Amber at the front desk who checked us in (and out) to the personnel at the Buffet, gaming area, and the housekeeping staff were very courteous, pleasant, and helpful.


The Buffet food was good but not as plentiful as before when MGM owned this property. The dining area is spacious.

The Casino area is small, but they are rebuilding across hwy 90 next to the water. It is supposed to be a collaboration between Harrah's and Jimmy Buffet building a Margaretaville Entertainment complex with a casino, hotel, and retail spaces.
It is scheduled to open sometime in 2010. The two overhead walkways over Hwy 90 remain in tact. I guess so that guests will be able to go back and forth between to two Harrah's properties.


They now have a Starbucks in the lobby with pastries and sandwiches.

L.B.’s steakhouse is located next to Starbucks.

They have a bar next to the lobby and swimming pool.

We missed the extra security that MGM had in place that required inserting your room key before being granted access to hotel elevators.
One change we did like was that now the vending and ice machines on each floor are now housed in a room with an enclosed glass entry door. That should help keep the noise down for adjacent rooms.

Our room was clean and well appointed. It had a plasma t.v. and a Sony clock radio with cd player. The dial on the clock radio was kind of bright and we had to cover it up when sleeping.
The room had nice big crown molding and comfortable pillow top bedding. We noticed that there was a lack of, or a missing room directory telling about the property. An in room coffee maker was provided. The bathroom was nicely tiled, and had ample amount of towels, hair dryer, complimentary shower cap and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. The wall mounted swing out mirror was unlighted and not magnified.

The entrance door did have the usual crack between the bottom of the door and carpet that seems to be the hotel standard. A pet peeve of ours that adds to noise from hallway traffic.

There is a One Dollar charge for local, 800, and 411 calls. ATT&T
operated assisted calls are the cost of the call plus a 25% service charge.

One room up charge that MGM tried to stick on your bill is now missing. (Bottled water in the room.)


One thing that surprised us was Harrah's charges a fee of $11.00 for wireless internet access for 24 hrs.
This really rubbed us the wrong way. In this age of instant communication even most economy motels offer their guests free internet access! This one factor may make us decide to stay at one of the other Casinos on our next trip.

Harrah's needs to rethink their policy of charging for Internet access!

  • Liked — Comfort items
  • Disliked — Fee for Internet access!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntersville, Alabama
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

This was mine and my boyfriends first time at the Grand and in Biloxi. We were very excited due to all the photos and computer hype about the hotel. However the hotel didn't quite fit the image nor the prices we paid for the weekend. The staff was friendly. Our room was missing a chair for the table--that they brought to us as we were checking out, the starbucks was too high, the casino was very small, the eating choices were limited and the buffet was the worst we ate out 3 other hotels. The casino was cluttered together, and not very gamble friendy. The golf course that is advertised so much is very nice, however they fail to mention that it's 45 minutes away from your hotel. The fitness area is not free and the pool area doesn't have the waterfalls that the pictures display with linking websites. My advice stay at the Beau Rivage or Hard Rock--their casino areas are larger and have more to offer, their food choices vary more and all are great, the view from both are awesome and the pools both overlook the water. The insides of both will drop your jaw--the Grand doesn't have any of the above!

  • Liked — leaving and going to other hotels to gamble, eat, shop, and sight see
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

perfect comfort. clean. new ammenities. fast check- in. excellent.

  • Liked — everything was top shelf and got the room for $89 and it retails for $260 a night!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Gulf Coast

Address: 280 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS 39530 (Formerly Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Biloxi
#4 Spa Hotel in Biloxi
#7 Casino Hotel in Biloxi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Biloxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Gulf Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Gulf Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Biloxi Casino Hotel And Spa
Grand Biloxi Hotel Biloxi
Grand Casino Biloxi Mississippi
Grand Casino Biloxi Ms
Grand Casino Hotel Biloxi
Grand Casino In Biloxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Gulf Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.