We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai food on the Coast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basil

Basil
1686 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 187 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Biloxi, Mississippi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai food on the Coast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Once you get past the fact this authentic Thai restaurant is inside a hotel, you'll find outstanding Thai dishes to please your cravings. The food is excellent and they only serve Thai food during dinner service! My only wish is that they would start serving lunch too!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, Spicy Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've eaten in many Thai restaurants all over the USA, and Thailand too, and this restaurant in Holdiday Inn Express was just excellent. We ordered papaya salad, pad thai to start, and said we want it mild to regular spicy. the salad was so good i decided to order the chicken in yellow curry sauce, which was superb (regular thai hot). in many thai restaurants, the thai curry sauces tend to be too creamy, even sweetish to reduce the heat factor, but here, the Thai lady chef did it just right. just a touch of coconut milk and right amount of sauce consistency, not too runny, not too thick, and the spice heat was just prefect for my taste. we raved so much about the food that our wait-person brought the thai lady chef, whom we thanked profusely, and she simply said she made the food 'home style.'
so when in biloxi, if you're hankering for some real good thai or spicy food, check out the Thai Basil.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“This place was great. Finally local authentic Thai.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Limited menu with all the staples. The pad thai was excellent, the fried rice, Thai style was excellent (loved the fresh bamboo shoots), the spring rolls were not greasy, the soup was tasty. We will return. Only thing is that is in a holiday inn breakfast type location. Clean, but odd environment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A friend who is part Thai recommended this restaurant. When she took her mother to Basil she and the owner talked to each other in thai and my friend said this is authentic thai food. A girlfriend wanted to do something different for her birthday and this was her pick. The chicken satay was great served with peanut sauce and cucmber salad. Wontons good. The soup was good. I had the yellow chicken curry good with medium heat. Papaya salad my friend got spicy and IT WAS SPICY !!! she loved it. Everyone enjoyed the food. Limited bar only beer and wine available. We sat outside for the appetizers looking at the beach and went inside for the main courses. Our server handled 6 women all talking at once very well. We will go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Thai cuisine in Biloxi, Mississippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hidden in the lobby of the Holiday Inn-hotel in Biloxi we found the best Thai cuisine ever (outside Thailand). Everyting is tasting authentic. We recommend the spicey beef and apple salad, yellow curry and spicey basil chicken. The people at 'Basil' were very friendly, and the cook (a Thai lady) made especially for us a mango and sticky rice for dessert. price maincourse: 12,95 dollar

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.