We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill

Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill
1763 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531-5303
228-432-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 189 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The original is in Pass Christian, Shaggy's Harbor Bar and Grill. They just opened this one about two months ago.
Medusa, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“We went back twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Shaggy's is a place to relax, sit on the deck, stare at the gulf, and have some good eats. The char-broiled oysters were yummy, the crab cakes were excellent, and the pulled pork was tender and tasty. The waitress, Brandy, was friendly and attentive. What more could we ask for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    177
    80
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Views”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had been begging to go to Shaggy's because I always saw crowds there. Well..... I guess they were tourist. The view outside is wonderful, the limited menu was ok, the food was cooked to order and tasted ok. I thought it was a little expensive for what you were served. Go for fun and the view with your friends, if you are looking for great seafood try one of the other many great places in Gulfport and Biloxi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beach, beer and sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Shaggy's is a great beach find. I didn't go with high expectations as we just walked over from our next-door hotel on the beach. Was I happy we did! The fried green tomato appetizer with remoulade and crabmeat on top was sublime. Then we had grilled salmon with a lemon butter cream sauce, mashed potatoes and mixed sautéed veggies. Fantastically fresh and grilled just right!
Service was friendly and our waitress, Bunny, made great suggestions and was so sweet.
Our kids played on the beach while we enjoyed the sun on the deck and our drinks.
We loved the drinks for happy hour and left satisfied and happy both times we visited!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

From the looks of the restaurant I immediately got excited. Was in town visiting and was craving some great seafood. This place was recommended by a friend (clearly I need to find better friends) and I was not impressed. So here we go: I started my visit by ordering raw oysters which were warm and not served even served on ice, just on something that looked like ice. I proceeded to order the seafood sampler which comes with fried catfish, french fries, jalapeño hush puppies, fried shrimp and fried oysters, all of which were I'm sure fried all is the same oil. My french fries tasted more like fish than potato. To say the least, I was highly disappointed.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yummy shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we visited here on our trip and the food was delicious! i ordered the shrimp basket, listed on their menu it says fried, i asked if they had anything grilled! the server said they could do any of their food grilled. i didnt expect it to be that great but this shrimp was amazing. i also ordered a white peach margarita that was really good. we did sit outside and it was a little cool but, we also requested it because of the beautiful view. you can choose to sit inside or out or even their bar area! seating and service was very prompt we will eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.