We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place for a casual meal on the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill

Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill
1763 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531-5303
228-432-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 190 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The original is in Pass Christian, Shaggy's Harbor Bar and Grill. They just opened this one about two months ago.
st. louis, mo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“fun place for a casual meal on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were pleased to find a place to eat near the water. This considering how slow building seems to be since Hurricane Katrina. We were satisfied with the food and service (the young man with the dreadlocks took great care of us and we found nothing in his demeanor to object to). It did seem to be a bit high priced for the area, but for our short visit, we didn't mind supporting a local business.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    177
    80
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“What a trainwreck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Yes, the location is quite nice. Avert your eyes from the highway and you could maybe be at a beach bar in the Yucatan or Belize.

But anything good about this establishment ends there. Their food is mildly passable at best. Definitely overpriced for the quality though. The service should be an embarrassment to the owners. Their young waiter with the stoned out pupils and white boy dreadlocks is a walking parody of everything that's wrong with the service industry anymore. I swore if he called me "dude" one more time I was going to slam his pathetic head into one of the exceedingly filthy tables provided. Fortunately he escaped unscathed as I needed him to make repeated runs to the kitchen in an attempt to get the simplest of orders eventually correct. Still tasted like microwave quality frozen mystery nuggets though.

Wasting time on mediocrity is pointless. This place doesn't even rate as mediocre.

Drive on by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I am so glad we decided to stop in and have lunch. the food was amazing. dining outside on a beautiful day made the atmosphere perfect. super good food an amazing service. would love to go back soon enjoy the fun.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“GO FOR THE LOCATION! (Forget the food...)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Shaggy's sounds like a lot more fun but doesn't deliver. You're there cause you wanna be lookin cool, having drinks at a beach bar? Great - Shaggy's is your kinda place. BUT.... if you wanna eat savory, well prepared seafood, you've gone to the wrong place :-( We ordered the "charbroiled oysters" which the menu led us to believe would ring true to the New Orleans style of charbroiling. WRONG - DEAD WRONG!!! They sent out lukewarm oysters with parmesan cheese barely melted on top! They served the oysters in the shell on top of a bed of rock salt (authentic enough) but YUCK! Either serve me a raw oyster w/a horseradish sauce or cook my oyster. And, what self respecting chef lets parm cheese serve as the one and only seasoning? We just didn't get it. No taste and no flame ever came near those oysters. Pricey, small portions and very non-descript. Sorry, but go enjoy the drinks and only eat there if you're drunk enough to numb your taste buds.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The seafood platter was great. Also, the cheeseburger was very good. Great views, excellent service and good atmosphere. If you're in the area I would recommend trying this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaggy's Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.