We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, but current” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Biloxi Fillin Station

Ole Biloxi Fillin Station
692 Howard Ave, Biloxi, MS 39530-4308
228-435-2522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 190 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Classic, but current”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love to seek out Mom/Pop or independent places to eat, and avoid feeding the "chain resturant" mentality. The Ole Fillin Station was recommended and is quite comfortable and feels local, but the meals were 'cuisine'. Try the charbroiled oysters... Reasonable prices, great food, family friendly. Small place but packed with punch

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    59
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to this place buy our tour bus driver as one of the places that the locals eat. We were greeted by Jessica, who was extremely friendly and helpful with the menu. I had the Crawfish and Pepper piroux which was awesome and unique! My wife had the mahi wrap which she also loved. Jessica shared info about the local area, sampled us a local brew called Southern Pecan (fantastic), and invited us back for happy hour. The prices were great, the food wonderful and the atmosphere was one of a kind. We cant wait to return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Gumbo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After touring the Ohr Museum we asked the woman at the desk for a lunch recommendation. She did not hesitate with the Fillin' Station. Our first impression was it might be a little too trendy for us. There were twenty-somethings doing lots of drinking, cigarette smoke, and the feeling that everyone was much younger than us. We were immediatel greeted by a very friendly waitress and decided to stay. She recommended the seafood gumbo and it was great! Full of big pieces of shrmp, oysters, and much of the fish that the Gulf is famous for. Once served we forgot all about our doubts and just enjoyed a great bowl of fresh flavor. FYI, Mississippi seems to have no restrictions on smoking anywhere. Luckily, it was not a problem in most places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Food Coma - Delicious Fried Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We brought our catch here from a half day of fishing and had them cook it (one of the nice options about this place). It was incredible and an entirely unexpected find - our fishing guide pointed us to this place. The fried pickles are ridiculously good.

Obviously none of this is particularly good for your health, but you might as well eat well while you're living.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Fun local spot with informal, eccentric vibe & reasonably good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife & I have had lunch at the Fillin' Station (a converted gas station) several times over the past 2 years, most recently on Tuesday 12/18, when we sat outside on a sunny day. We like the restaurant & go back from time to time when we're in Biloxi to visit family.

The menu is basic bar food reasonably priced in an informal setting with an eccentric vibe. Our server, Jess, was very cheerful & helpful.

We had a glass of pleasant chardonnay (wife), excellent Jackamo draft IPA ale (me), a 1/2 dozen tasty charbroiled oysters, OK pork spring rolls, & a good, large house salad with added crawfish. Overall, a relaxed, enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole Biloxi Fillin Station also viewed

 

Been to Ole Biloxi Fillin Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole Biloxi Fillin Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.