We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 188 Restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
starkville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was on a business trip, so I was dining alone, which sometimes is kind of uncomfortable, but I had a great meal here from beginning to end. My waitress was really helpful and friendly. I was undecided and she recommended the paneed flounder with a citrus dill sauce and lump crabmeat. My mouth is watering just thinking about it, OMG. It was so good!! I also had a side of asparagus that was cooked in a gorgonzola butter which completely took it out of the "vegetable" category. I could have even got my kids to it, it was so tangy and buttery. For dessert, I had the keylime pie which was just love. I wish I had eaten here earlier because I would have gone back every night I was in Biloxi!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    204
    60
    19
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great oysters and redfish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Much better than last time. The oyster sampler was great but they lost one star because of the grit in every oyster. Service was stellar and the grilled redfish was a very good piece of fish. Hard to find these days. Get the potatoes and the asparagus with gorgonzola!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oh how I was hopeful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice place...atmosphere and all. I began with a classic grey goose martini...no vermouth and blue cheese stuffed olives on the side. Dont want the olives and blue cheese messin with my purest martini. What came was a dirty martini...what? How does one confuse??? Then we ordered the oyster sampler. While great in taste...each oyster was filled with grit and shells from shucking. A fine place like this at a price of $17.00 a doz. These guys need to pay close to exacution during preperation. Sadly it didn't get any better from there ...we got our shrimp; these particular royal shrimp are supposed to be a delight...a deep-water Gulf of Mexico shrimp that is only seasonal for short time. It came overly cooked and dry. It was terrible. Even our side order of fried okra was cold. Everything went wrong. The restaurant manager, Mike came over...he was very nice and took care of everything but...he informed us that the royal shrimp were frozen and brought in from Argentina!!!!!...in my opinion...get local, eat local. Don't comprimise. When people visit places they really want local flavor. Do that and you'll be a winner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not only good enough that I would go back but I'd recommend it to my friends as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A great place. Fun, busy atmosphere. The food is delicious. I liked very much being able to sample local beers. I wish I had dreaded up a little better but casual certainly isn't out of place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The oyster cook, over grilled the oysters”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had been here in the past and had great grilled oysters,but they have a new cook and the oysters came out like leather.. We'll skip this place next trip..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.