We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 188 Restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fresh, Fresh, Fresh seafood! Living in Dallas when I am on the coast it is my goal to eat seafood everyday! This was the one of the best meals we had on this trip. Service was good, atmosphere was good. Casual , dressy or anything in between. Don't miss this one if you are in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    188
    60
    19
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Ambience, Even Better Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hubby and I enjoyed a trip to Half Shell Oyster House during our stay in September. After talking with some locals, it was clear this was one of the places we needed to try. We heeded their warnings of long waits- and they were correct. We went on a Saturday night and people wanting a table had a wait of up to an hour and a half (we went right around 7pm). However, we were told to head upstairs to the 2nd floor bar, and try and grab a seat at the bar, if we didn't mind eating there- which we didn't. At first the bar was full, but after only about 5 minutes of waiting, 2 spots opened up. The bartenders worked tirelessly, not only getting drinks for bar partrons and the waitstaff, but also serving dinner to those guests, like ourselves, eating in the bar area. However, they never missed a beat and were very professional. Hubby ordered surf and turf, with the gorgonzola asparagus and new potatoes. I had the Bacon and Pecan encrusted redfish with a salad (try the house vinaigrette- so yummy!) and new potatoes. Both of us declared our meal the best we've had in a long time. Everything was cooked perfectly and delicious. Hubby tried the key lime pie for desert- said, again, it was the best he has had in a long time. Bill was around a $100- but both of us had a couple glasses of wine, so I think it is an excellent value. We will definitely go back the next time we are in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Biloxi restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I went out for dinner and drinks and chose Half Shell Oyster House based upon user reviews. We ordered the Filet Orleans with a cup of gumbo and the Almond Encrusted Chicken with the potatoes and asparagus. Everything was very good and our waitress was friendly. Definitely one of the best options in the Biloxi area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Love the atmosphere. Such a chill place to unwind and enjoy good seafood. The drink menu is impressive here. The food never disappoints!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“chargrilled oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went to the restaurant specifically for the chargrilled oysters, and I was not disappointed. They were excellent. The firecracker shrimp was satisfactory, but the oysters were perfect!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.