We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chargrilled oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 183 restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“chargrilled oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went to the restaurant specifically for the chargrilled oysters, and I was not disappointed. They were excellent. The firecracker shrimp was satisfactory, but the oysters were perfect!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    369
    167
    54
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good...not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

in a historic building in the very tiny old-town, downtown of Biloxi (right across from the Hard Rock Casino and hotel....) this is clearly a popular hangout for locals. Probably better if you stick with beer or cocktails - - the wines by the glass had been open for awhile. Service was unbelievably fast -- we felt that we were being rushed out - - although there was no-one waiting to get in. we were still working on our plate of oysters, when both mains arrived....so the mains sat on the table getting cold while we tried to race through our appetizer. THe food was okay - - fish was fresh but nothing outstanding. We were in and out in 40 minutes....would not return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great local restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Great place with fabulous food and drink ! Waiters were very nice , atmosphere was good ! Service was quick even though they were busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here twice and both meals have been very good. The specials not on the menu seem put together nicely. I thought the prices were fair for the quality of the food. They serve food until 11 which is later than most. I like the place a lot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Better than most in the area.....Expensive for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I are in Biloxi quite a bit, but have never tried this place. The reviews were overall good so we decided to give it a shot. The restaurant itself was very nice for an oyster house and had a good atmosphere. Our waitress was also the bartender upstairs and she was not very friendly or attentive. I started with a draft beer which was served in a 12 oz. glass. I am a firm believer that ALL draft should be served in a pint glass. We started with the VooDoo Shrimp ($9). It was a good portion for an appetizer and the shrimp were very tasty. They make a VooDoo shrimp poboy that I would like to try in the future. For entrees, I had the shrimp and grits ($16) which were just OK to me. I like my shrimp and grits to be a spicy New Orleans style and these were 3 grit cakes with sauteed shrimp and a very sweet BBQ sauce. Overall, it was OK, but I wouldn't get it again. The side of fried new potatoes were swimming in butter or oil and had way too much garlic on them for my taste. The side of fried okra however was some of the best fried okra I have ever eaten. My wife had the Bacon & Pecan Crusted Redfish ($18). It was very good and the fish tasted fresh, but the portion size was a little small to me for the price. To finish things off, we tried the cinnamon roll bread pudding ($5). It was a decent bread pudding, but was served steaming hot (right out of the microwave), and again was kind of a small portion. Would we go here again? You bet. It was a good restaurant and there are several menu items that I would like to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.