We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 199 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Barbecue, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here twice and both meals have been very good. The specials not on the menu seem put together nicely. I thought the prices were fair for the quality of the food. They serve food until 11 which is later than most. I like the place a lot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    247
    66
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Better than most in the area.....Expensive for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I are in Biloxi quite a bit, but have never tried this place. The reviews were overall good so we decided to give it a shot. The restaurant itself was very nice for an oyster house and had a good atmosphere. Our waitress was also the bartender upstairs and she was not very friendly or attentive. I started with a draft beer which was served in a 12 oz. glass. I am a firm believer that ALL draft should be served in a pint glass. We started with the VooDoo Shrimp ($9). It was a good portion for an appetizer and the shrimp were very tasty. They make a VooDoo shrimp poboy that I would like to try in the future. For entrees, I had the shrimp and grits ($16) which were just OK to me. I like my shrimp and grits to be a spicy New Orleans style and these were 3 grit cakes with sauteed shrimp and a very sweet BBQ sauce. Overall, it was OK, but I wouldn't get it again. The side of fried new potatoes were swimming in butter or oil and had way too much garlic on them for my taste. The side of fried okra however was some of the best fried okra I have ever eaten. My wife had the Bacon & Pecan Crusted Redfish ($18). It was very good and the fish tasted fresh, but the portion size was a little small to me for the price. To finish things off, we tried the cinnamon roll bread pudding ($5). It was a decent bread pudding, but was served steaming hot (right out of the microwave), and again was kind of a small portion. Would we go here again? You bet. It was a good restaurant and there are several menu items that I would like to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After reading great views I was anticipating a superior meal but that was not the case. The place was packed we waited 45 minutes to be seated. The atmosphere was great. The staff was very knowledgeable of their menu and attentive. I ordered fried shrimp which was average tasting at best. The shrimp had a very fishy taste and my fries were cold. My husband had the shrimp pasta which he enjoyed and our son had a shrimp Po-Boy that he equally enjoyed. our daughter had a chicken, bacon Swiss sandwich! Go figure at a seafood place. Perhaps I will need to order something different to get the full effect of their menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Food was remarkable but mot for the faint of stomach. Lots of butter spice and salt. We loved the oysters Cajun style. The pecan crusted redfish with orange sauce was great too. Prices were very reasonable. Atmosphere was casual but not sloppy. Our waiter Dan was personable helpful and efficient. Would highly recommend this spot

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Biloxi experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Biloxi has some good restaurants the ones in my hotel were very good but Half Shell Oyster House is great. I had the raw oysters and charbroiled oysters both were delicious. My wife had the fish grouper which was tasty. I also enjoyed the tasty vegetables. Our server was friendly and attentive my margaritas were very good

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.