We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters are only the beginning...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 187 restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Oysters are only the beginning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very successful restaurant for the coastal area due to the freshness of their offerings. Walking in on a Thursday evening at about 6:30, we found a line waiting for a table. We were assured it would be about a 30 minute wait ( and it was.) There is sufficient waiting area, but the bar is adjacent and we found the grill where the oysters are charbroiled on the other side of the bar. We asked if we could get a dozen within the 30 minute timeframe and were accomdated. There is no substitute for fresh charbroiled oysters. If you go, there are no reservations, and if there is a short wait, go get a beverage and the oysters. You won't regret it. The menu has many items to create a great meal experience. Try the half shell salad as one of the choices with your entree. The fish are fresh, the fried items are prepared properly and you will leave very satisfied that you enjoyed great food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    412
    178
    57
    18
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the oysters, to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We absolutely loved this restaurant and ordered the appetizer oysters on the half shell. They were so large and so good that we ordered a second round of the oysters to come before our meal (a salad each). Marvelous food. And reasonable, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I went on a Thursday night we had to wait about 20 minutes so we had a drink at the bar.My wife hade the Portabello mushrooms and I had the Red Royal shrimp. Both was very good but theRed Royal shrimp was the best I ever ate!! Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Surf and Turf to Beat Them All!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

You know a good restaurant when you have to wait for a seat. This restaurant is exactly that. We arrived there on a Saturday evening for our vacation meal dinner. What a great choice! The restaurant has a fantastic surf and turf with a fantastic filet covered with fresh lump crab meat and a sauce that is amazing. I believe the cost of the entree was @$24 and was worth it! The ambience was casually classy and appealed to both the vacationer as well as a special night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We always eat here at least once while in town. Love the food and the atmosphere. The Shrimp & Grits is my favorite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.